General Reference for Critical Biography
Contemporary Novelists by Call Number: REF PR 881 C69 1991ISBN: 155862189XPublication Date: 1995-12-01This set is available in the library's reference collection and also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
Contemporary Poets by Call Number: REF PR 603 C6 1995ISBN: 1558620354Publication Date: 1991-03-01This set is available in the library's reference collection and also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
Contemporary World Writers by Call Number: REF PN 451 C6235 1993ISBN: 1558622004Publication Date: 1993-09-01This item is available in the library's reference collection.
World Authors 2000-2005 by Call Number: REF PN 451 .W67 2007ISBN: 9780824210779Publication Date: 2007-06-01This item is available in the library's reference collection.
World Authors, 1995-2000 by Call Number: REF PN 451 .W67 2003ISBN: 0824210328Publication Date: 2003-01-01This item is available in the library's reference collection.
World Authors 1990-1995 by Call Number: REF PN 451 .W67 1999ISBN: 0824209567Publication Date: 2000-01-01This item is available in the library's reference collection.
This is just a brief sampling of some critical biography sources. If you are looking for something specific, please contact us @ mcreference@vcccd.edu or stop by the reference desk for assistance.
Specialized Reference for Critical Biography
African-American Writers by Call Number: PS 153.N5 A344 2001ISBN: 9780684806389Publication Date: 2000-12-15This set is available in the library's reference collection and also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
American Writers by Call Number: REF PS 129 A55ISBN: 9780684312323Publication Date: 2002-11-18This set is available in the library's reference collection and also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
Asian American Literature by Call Number: REF PS 153 A84 A82 1999ISBN: 0787602965Publication Date: 1998-10-01This item is available in the library's reference collection.
British Writers by Call Number: REF PR 85 B688ISBN: 9780684804965Publication Date: 1997-09-24This set is available in the library's reference collection and also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
Feminist WritersCall Number: REF PN451 .F46 1996ISBN: 1558622179Publication Date: 1996-09-17This item is available in the library's reference collection.
Gay and Lesbian Literature by Call Number: REF PN 56 H57 G36 1993ISBN: 1558621741Publication Date: 1993-12-01
Latino and Latina WritersCall Number: REF PS 153.H56 L39 2004 v.1-2ISBN: 068431293XPublication Date: 2003-11-03This item is available in the library's reference collection.
This is just a brief sampling of some critical biography sources. If you are looking for something specific, please contact us @ mcreference@vcccd.edu or stop by the reference desk for assistance.
Literary Criticism Databases
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowThis database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more. The Shakespeare Center holds plays and poems, including a comprehensive overview of every play, performance videos, an extensive library of criticism from the sixteenth century to the present, research and writing advice. Additionally, there is material covering Shakespeare's life and times, his contemporaries, his stage, his language, and many other related topics.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell. We have integrated Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online into a single research environment to help you take your research to new levels.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. Articles can be searched by key word. Retrieved articles appear as high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed and printed.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The entries cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Articles may be printed from the computer screen or e-mailed.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provides ebooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers. The collection can be searched, including by keyword or subject. Print versions of these books are available in the library.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to an interdisciplinary collection of material, including scholarly journals and open source books, in the area of humanities and social sciences. Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University Press.
