Best Bet
This database contains over 2,600 playtexts, over 370 scholarly books, over 400 audio plays, and over 325 hours of video. Access includes content from the National Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company, Shakespeare’s Globe, and LA Theatre Works. Plays can be located by genre, period, theme, and more.
Drama Online User Videos
Use Drama Online to find plays and monologues. You can explore the content thematically using the Explore by and Browse Contents options in the main navigation, or use the search bar to find results linked to specific words, phrases or names.
There are also different options for searching: Advanced and Advanced Play Search. if you click on the Advanced Play Search option you can do a search for a keyword or phrase to see what plays or monologues they appear in.
Searching Tips:
- Use the Advanced Play Search to find plays by number of scenes, word count, total roles, number of male roles, number of female roles, number of unassigned roles.
- Use the Monologue Search to search for monologues by male, female or unassigned.
Bloomberg Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform designed to support moving-image studies. It offers a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber, the British Film Institute, Focal Press and Auteur (Liverpool University Press).
Recommended Databases
More than 500,000 images from the areas of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture. [Artstor is now on JSTOR. The Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.]
This database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines.
This database provides access to an interdisciplinary collection of material, including scholarly journals and open source books, in the area of humanities and social sciences. Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
A collection of online resources from Oxford Music Online that includes the full text from the The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 print volumes, 2001) as well as similar online versions of other Grove products including The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.