Find Articles in Databases
-
​Access to the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, The Economist, The Atlantic, Foreign Affairs, The Guardian, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe.
-
Includes news, publications, court cases, law reviews, company information, and country information for Political Science, Business and Criminal Justice majors.
- Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new windowCurrent issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowThis resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
- Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new windowExamining a wide range of topics in American History, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history.
- EBSCOhost All Databases1. To search within a single database, click the database name listed on the page.
2. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
3. To select all, check the "Select/Deselect" box and click the "Continue" button. Type your search terms in the search box. - Gale Databases-Power SearchThis search feature allows you to search multiple databases at once.
NOTE: Check the "Select All" box and type your search terms in the "Find" search box.
- EBSCO Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes more than 625 English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere; more than 400 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Full text articles are available in 215 journals.
- Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition This link opens in a new windowIMPORTANT: Off-campus access to this database is temporarily unavailable.
A broad database of journal articles and books published by or from affiliates of the international publisher Elsevier. This resource provides searchable sources, more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books, in the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
- EBSCO Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes publications in the area of communications, mass media and other closely-related fields such as film, television, rhetoric, broadcasting, advertising, and new media. Searching includes 570 journals with more than 450 offering full text articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to an interdisciplinary collection of material, including scholarly journals and open source books, in the area of humanities and social sciences. Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University Press.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowA database which includes articles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications. Additionally, coverage includes scholarly journals, magazine articles and other sources from ethnic and gender studies sources. Searchable by keyword and subject.
- StatistaIMPORTANT: Off-campus access to this database is temporarily unavailable.
This multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases. Includes more than 15,000 studies, industry reports, dossiers, and infographics, plus forecasts on over 500 industries and 40 economies over a period of five years. All information is prepared and checked by a research team of more than 80 analysts.
Sociology Journals
- American Journal of SociologyEstablished in 1895 as the first US scholarly journal in its field, the American Journal of Sociology (AJS) presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods.
- American Sociological ReviewThe official flagship journal of the American Sociological Association (ASA), American Sociological Review (ASR) publishes works of interest to the discipline in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance our understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations.
- The American SociologistThe American Sociologist publishes papers, comments, and other writings on topics of professional and disciplinary concern to sociologists. The contents examine intellectual, practical, and ethical issues affecting the work, careers, and perspectives of sociologists.
- Annual Review of SociologyThe Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields.