Selected Materials (Books, eBooks, databases, websites) - Great for background information
Reference materials may provide definitions, facts and userful background and overview information on your topic. Click the tab to get a list of selected reference titles available through the Moorpark College Library Catalog. All of the print reference sources are located on the second floor of the Library in the reference area. On the eResources pages (Alphabetized and/or Subject List are three online reference databases: Gale eBooks, EBSCO eBook Collection and Credo Reference. To access the databases from off campus, you will need to login to MyVCCCD with your username and password.
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides country specific geopolitical information on the 191 countries of the world. Includes a collection of political and thematic maps as well as statistical data.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction. Searches can be done within a particular title or performed across hundreds of titles.
Countries and Their Cultures by Publication Date: 2003
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifePublication Date: 2009
The Sage Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by Publication Date: 2015- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America byPublication Date: 2014
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture by Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture by Publication Date: 2008
World Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: Ref GT507 .S6 2015 (Reference Collection)
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Publication Date: 2007- The Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology byPublication Date: 2007
- The Cambridge Handbook of Acculturation Psychology byPublication Date: 2006
- Encyclopedia of Latino Culture by Publication Date: 2013
- Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture by Publication Date: 2008
- World Clothing and Fashion by Call Number: Ref GT507 .S6 2015 (Reference Collection)
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Publication Date: 2004
- World Factbook (CIA)"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."