Articles/Periodicals
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides country specific geopolitical information on the 191 countries of the world. Includes a collection of political and thematic maps as well as statistical data.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research.
- CIA World Factbook"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
- ProQuest U.S. Newstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Alt-Press WatchThese databases can be searched together or separately. The materials include some magazine and academic journal articles across various disciplines as well as a large collection of American newspapers searchable by keyword or subject.
- EBSCO Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes publications in the area of communications, mass media and other closely-related fields such as film, television, rhetoric, broadcasting, advertising, and new media.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowThis resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines.
- Gale Databases - Power SearchThis search feature allows you to search multiple databases at once.
NOTE: Check the "Select All" box and type your search terms in the "Find" search box. - Search Multiple EBSCO DatabasesNOTE: Check the "Select/Deselect" box and click the "Continue" button. Type your search terms in the search box.
- EBSCO Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full text access to over 1,000 business publications, with access to some journals going back as far as 1985. Also included within this source are more than 10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news. Indexes more than 15,000 sources including: newspapers, academic journals, magazines, wire services and media news transcripts from the major television and radio networks, federal and state court opinions, and federal and state statutes. Many of the articles are in full text; some are in abstract form. News information is updated daily and wire services are updated several times daily.
- EBSCO Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes more than 625 English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere; more than 400 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Full text articles are available in 215 journals, some titles going back to 1995. Subject coverage includes: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, International Relations, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
- EBSCO APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowA database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation, and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
- EBSCO Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowAccording to EBSCO, "this is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals." This resource provides access to journal articles on all "topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods."
Get Help? Ask a Librarian
In person
Or
Email us at: mcreference@vcccd.edu
Email us your reference question being as clear and specific as possible concerning your needs. It is often helpful to know why you are doing research: is it for a class, what is the assignment and other helpful information. Be sure to indicate any deadlines you have.