Research Using Library Resources: Successful searches

The first step in your research is choosing the best database for your subject.

If you are unsure of which database to use, consult the "Databases by Subject" list or speak to a Librarian.  The alphabetized list of databases feature descriptions of the databases as well.

Click on the Advanced Search drop-down tab from this page to learn how to search all (or some) of the databases with just one search.

Check out these video tutorials on using databases!

EBSCO, one of our main multidisciplinary databases, has several short videos:

• Introduction to EBSCO
• Basic searching
• Refining results

Gale, our other major interdisciplinary database, also has video tutorials:

• Introduction & basic searching in Infotrac
• Introduction & basic searching in the Gale Virtual Reference Library

If your subject is more than one word, put quotes around it, so that the words are searched together, as a phrase, rather than individually.  For example: "global warming" instead of global warming.

Avoid using natural language searches ("What time is it in Arizona?)

Avoid using extraneous terms, like articles (a, an, the).  The databases don't search these words anyhow!

The most critical part of research is formulating the best search phrase. 

• To find the most relevant results, identify and simplify the main subjects of your topic.  For example, to find information on the effects of global warming on animal populations, your main subjects could be: "global warming" and "animals". 
• Once you have identified your subjects, come up with synonyms for those terms. "Climate change" and "greenhouse effect" are two synonyms for "global warming."  "Wildlife" and "fauna" are two synonyms for "animals".  If your initial search does not yield relevant results, you can try other search phrase combinations.

A search strategy for our topic, using EBSCO's Academic Search complete, could be : "climate change" animals:

or use the Advanced Search screen to put "climate change" on one line, and "animals" on another.

While search parameters can be set before you begin your search, they can also be applied to search results.  The search results for "climate change" and "animals" are shown below. 

1. Read not only the title of the resources, but also the subjects listed below the citation information, to see if your results are relevant.  If not, employ a different search strategy by using different terms or phrases from the synonym list you created.
2. Refine your results using the tools in the left column of your results page.  For example, choose only full-text articles and set your publication date range.
3. Click on the PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text icons to read and save/print/email your articles.