Research Using Library Resources: Books

The library catalog has records for physical items housed in the library as well as eBooks. Go to the library's home page to search the catalog. Go to the catalog.

You can do a keyword, subject, or author search from the online catalog. A keyword search on "owls" yields results that include ebooks, circulating books, and reference books:

To read eBooks, please see Using eBooks, below.

The Moorpark College Library uses Library of Congress call numbers to organize our books.  This is an alphanumeric system used by most academic libraries.  The call number is highlighted in this book record:

= 

In order to find items in the Library, make note of the location and the call number. 

• The Main Collection (circulating) books are available for checkout.  Call numbers A-HT are on the 2nd floor.  HV-Z and the Oversized (OS)  books are on the 3rd floor.
• Reference Collection (non-circulating) books are not available for checkout, but you can scan or make photocopies of them.  All of the Reference books are on the 2nd floor, and all of the call numbers start with "REF".
• Topics Table books are considered reference books and therefore cannot be checked out.  They are located on the shelves adjacent to the Reference desk.
• New Books and "Year of" books are shelved next to the reference desk.
• Print Periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers) are located in the low shelves in the back of the 2nd floor, and are arranged alphabetically by title.
• The Popular Video shelves are organized by genre and located on the 2nd floor, on the wall behind classroom 210.
• The Recreational Reading books are located in the shelves in the back of the 2nd floor.
• The Children's Collection books are located in the back of the 2nd floor.

For more information about call numbers and how to read them, please see the "Understanding call numbers" subtab of the Books tab.

1. Use OneSearch from the Library's homepage to enter in your topic into the search box. Go to the Library's homepage. 
2. Use the filter on the left-hand side to select Resource Type and books. 
3. Then, under the Availability filter, select Available online.
4. Click on a title, and go to the section called View Online to click on the database link in blue. 

In addition to eBooks that you can access through our online catalog, we also have databases that consist solely of electronic books:

• Daily Life Through History - eBook Collection
• EBSCO eBook Collection
• Salem Press eBooks
• Springer eBook Collection

You must:

• Be an enrolled student
• Have your 900-number.

You may:

• Check out up to ten circulating items for three weeks. 
• Renew your items if no holds have been placed on them. 
• If an item is checked out, click on the "Request Item" link in order to be placed on a waiting list for that item. 

The Library also has print magazines, journals and newspapers. 

They are indexed in the online Library catalog, as well as being listed in the three-ring binders labeled "Periodicals" at the Reference desk. 

The print periodicals are one of the few resources in the Library that are organized alphabetically by title.