Selected Databases by Subject
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- EBSCO MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowOffers the highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- EBSCO General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides the full text of selected periodical articles. Subjects include: astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food, genetics, health, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, nutrition, oceanography, physics, physiology, and zoology.
- Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad database of journal articles and books providing access to more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books. Covers the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- Science.org (AAAS formerly Science Magazine) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides subject access to articles that have appeared, since 1996, in Science, a leading journal of scientific research, global news, and commentary. Also included is access to Science NOW, a daily news source for scientific briefs. A separate collection of scientific job notices in industry, academia and government is also searchable.
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 7700 titles. The subject content is especially strong in scientific fields and the resources include TEXTBOOKS and reference works as well as SOME open source journal articles.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. It also offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and access to The Wall Street Journal.
- New York Times Online (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
A New York Times digital edition subscription is available to all MC faculty, students, and staff. The New York Times website covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City. The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEspecially useful in gathering in-depth information on topics of current social, economic, environmental, and political interest.
- Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new windowCurrent issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowThis resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction. Searches can be done within a particular title or performed across hundreds of titles.
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAn online electronic book collection of more than 7700 titles whose content reaches across the fields of: biology, business, economics, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, math and statistics, medicine (including nursing), physics, astronomy, and how-to computer software and programming. The subject content is especially strong in scientific fields and the resources include textbooks and reference works as well as some open source journal articles.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from reference titles covering all major disciplines. With particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
To get the complete list of databases, use the Databases link on the library home page.
How to Find an Article
Searching Multiple Databases
- EBSCOhost (search multiple databases) This link opens in a new windowSearch across a number of EBSCO databases simultaneously.
- Gale Databases PowerSearch This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases within the Gale/InfoTrac collection