Find the best library databases for your research.
Attention faculty: Links to MC Library databases, articles and videos will change in Spring 2024. We encourage instructors to regularly review their syllabi and Canvas shells to confirm that content is accessible to students.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine distribution service which lets users access their favorite magazines from a variety of publishers through their local libraries. Accessible via a web browser or custom apps made specifically for Apple devices, Android devices, and the Kindle Fire tablet, with Flipster users can download magazines to read offline, anytime, anywhere.
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library is the first comprehensive online collection for the interdisciplinary study of dress and costume history, design and making, and offers an indispensable scholarly and educational resource to support the study of dress history, costume studies and costume design.
Screen Studies is a dynamic digital platform designed to support moving-image studies. It offers a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources from Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber, the British Film Institute, Focal Press and Auteur (Liverpool University Press).
Discover a world of possibilities with Boundless, an extensive collection of eBooks, audio and digital media. Whether you’re an avid reader or someone who listens to audio at 2x speed, Boundless is your gateway to the best in digital content and programming.
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Based in Washington, D.C., The Chronicle has more than 70 writers, editors, and international correspondents. Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academia.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to a wealth of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included.
The Grove® Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles. Oxford Art Online offers access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a peer-reviewed medical journal published by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine. The JAMA Network website contains career-related materials for students, residents and fellows, as well as course, guidelines, and patient practice materials for physicians.
Alternate Name(s)
NEJM.org; New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is recognized as the world’s leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community.
From economics and politics to literature and philosophy, you can discover more than 1,000 Oxford Handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law. With new books and articles published online every month, you can be certain that you are accessing the most current information you need for your research.
This database provides authoritative answers to research questions across 25 different subject areas. Oxford Reference Online Premium contains over 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Get access to more than 7,000 of the world’s top newspapers and magazines as soon as they’re available on shelves. Popular international titles include The Guardian and Newsweek.
Alternate Name(s)
TheAtlantic.com; The Atlantic magazine; Atlantic
The Atlantic covers news, politics, foreign affairs, business and economy, culture and art, technology, science, health, and more, through its articles, podcasts, videos, and flagship magazine. TheAtlantic.com, includes all articles, and digital archives of The Atlantic magazine since 1857. At this time, our subscription does not include access via the app.
Best Bets
eBooks
Health & Medicine
Newspaper Articles
Primary Sources
Reference
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed
Streaming Videos
