"For Students" Books
Drama for Students
This set is available in the library and also online via the Gale eBooks database. This is a great first stop for students beginning their literary criticism journey.
Literary Themes for Students
This set is available in the library and also online via the Gale eBooks database.
Two Ways to Get the "For Students" eBooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
Literary Criticism Databases
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowThis database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more. The Shakespeare Center holds plays and poems, including a comprehensive overview of every play, performance videos, an extensive library of criticism from the sixteenth century to the present, research and writing advice. Additionally, there is material covering Shakespeare's life and times, his contemporaries, his stage, his language, and many other related topics.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- Gale Literature Criticism/Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell. We have integrated Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online into a single research environment to help you take your research to new levels.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. Articles can be searched by key word. Retrieved articles appear as high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed and printed.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to an interdisciplinary collection of material, including scholarly journals and open source books, in the area of humanities and social sciences. Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University Press.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provides ebooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers. The collection can be searched, including by keyword or subject. Print versions of these books are available in the library.
Searching for Literary Criticism on an Author or Work
- 1. Go to the MC Library Home Page. Scroll down to the search box:
- Type in the name of an author or piece of literature and click Search.
Deciphering Your Results
One Search searches the Library catalog (of books and ebooks) as well as some of the Library periodical databases as well as the public world wide web (internet). Your results may be any of the following:
- Books by the author (primary sources)
- Critical books and ebooks on an author or work of literature
- More general critical books and ebooks on a genre or type of literature (Latinx literature, young adult literature, contemporary British poetry, etc.)
- Articles from Library databases and from open-access scholarly sources on the public internet
