Critical Insights
Critical Insights: the Brontë Sisters by
The Brontë sisters, Charlotte, Emily, and Anne, are well known English poets and novelists of the nineteenth century. This volume closely examines Charlotte's masterpiece Jane Eyre, Emily's influential Wuthering Heights, and Anne's The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, to give readers a deeper sense of the themes throughout these important works and the influences behind their creation. Common themes throughout the sisters' works are love, gender, class, and the intersections of all three, and this volume explores these topics and more, setting the work of the Brontë sisters into various contexts, such as biographical, historical, social, cultural, and aesthetic.
ISBN: 9781637000731Publication Date: 2022-03-30
Special Editions
Annotated Wuthering Heights by
Emily Brontë's Wuthering Heights has been called the most beautiful, most profoundly violent love story of all time. At its center are Catherine and Heathcliff, and the self-contained world of Wuthering Heights, Thrushcross Grange, and the wild Yorkshire moors that the characters inhabit. "I am Heathcliff," Catherine declares. In her introduction Janet Gezari examines Catherine's assertion and in her notes maps it to questions that flicker like stars in the novel's dark dreamscape. How do we determine who and what we are? What do the people closest to us contribute to our sense of identity? The Annotated Wuthering Heights provides those encountering the novel for the first time--as well as those returning to it--with a wide array of contexts in which to read Brontë's romantic masterpiece. Gezari explores the philosophical, historical, economic, political, and religious contexts of the novel and its connections with Brontë's other writing, particularly her poems. The annotations unpack Brontë's allusions to the Bible, Shakespeare, and her other reading; elucidate her references to topics including folklore, educational theory, and slavery; translate the thick Yorkshire dialect of Joseph, the surly, bigoted manservant at the Heights; and help with other difficult or unfamiliar words and phrases. Handsomely illustrated with many color images that vividly recreate both Brontë's world and the earlier Yorkshire setting of her novel, this newly edited and annotated text will delight and instruct the scholar and general reader alike.
ISBN: 9780674724693Publication Date: 2014-10-20
Bloom's Books
Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights by
A collection of eight critical essays on Emily Brontee's novel Wuthering Heights arranged in chronological order of publication.
ISBN: 0877547327Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights by
Emily Bronte's ""Wuthering Heights"", set in the raw and frightening beauty of the English moors, is the story of two lovers drawn together from the moment they meet. Their love is consuming and destructive, forbidden and inescapable, making Bronte's tale a sweeping classic of English literature. This updated volume offers clear analysis perfect for students seeking valuable insight into this haunting tale.
ISBN: 9780791093641Publication Date: 2007-02-28
The Brontës by
Gathers together some of the best analyses of the Bronte sisters - Charlotte, Emily, and Anne. This book examines several works of the authors, including Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights, the two novels considered to be their best. It is enhanced by a chronology, bibliography, and notes on the contributors.
ISBN: 9781438112800Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Bloom's How to Write about the Brontes by
Emily, Anne, and Charlotte Bronte were three sisters who left an indelible mark on the literature of their age. Collectively, their novels give voice to often-isolated individuals who struggle to be heard and reconcile their own needs and desires with the expectations and double standards of their times. ""How to Write About the Brontes"" offers valuable paper-topic suggestions, clearly outlined strategies on how to write a strong essay, and an insightful introduction by Harold Bloom on writing about the Brontes sisters. This new volume is designed to help students develop their analytical writing skills and critical comprehension of these authors and their major works.
ISBN: 9780791097946Publication Date: 2009-01-30
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowThis database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more. The Shakespeare Center holds plays and poems, including a comprehensive overview of every play, performance videos, an extensive library of criticism from the sixteenth century to the present, research and writing advice. Additionally, there is material covering Shakespeare's life and times, his contemporaries, his stage, his language, and many other related topics.
Other
The Bronte Myth by
Since 1857, hardly a year has gone by without a book or play or monograph or film about the Brontës. Each generation has reimagined Charlotte, Emily, and Anne in ways that reflect changing visions—of the role of the woman writer or of sexuality or of the very concept of personality. Charlotte Brontë has been seen as domestic saint, as sex-starved hysteric, as ambitious literary careerist. Her sister Emily has been furnished with apocryphal lovers of both sexes; has even been denied the authorship ofWuthering Heightsby conspiracy theorists who attribute it to her brother, Branwell. Now Lucasta Miller, inThe Brontë Myth,shows us how the Brontës became cultural symbols almost as soon as their novels were published; how they became notorious even before the veil dropped from their carefully chosen pseudonyms, as Charlotte’sJane Eyreand Emily’sWuthering Heights,appearing out of nowhere, instantly fascinated, inspired, and scandalized English readers. The subsequent discovery that Currer, Ellis, and Acton Bell were three youngish spinsters— parson’s daughters—living rural lives of utmost propriety made interest in the sisters obsessive. Add a supposedly ferocious father and untimely death, to say nothing of the Victorian penchant for seeing noble sacrifice in every possible situation, and the production of legends multiplied. Lucasta Miller provides fascinating insight into the manufacture of cultural myth and how it can distort our memory of the artist even as it obscures the art. She traces the reinterpretations, indeed re-creations, of the Brontës, from Charlotte’s own efforts to soften her dead sisters’ reputations and Mrs. Gaskell’s classic portrait of the artists as exemplary Christian ladies to the fashionably Freudian psychobiographies of the 1920s and ’30s, from counterfeit memorabilia and the promotion of literary tourism to Hollywood representations of gloomy heroines on savage windswept moors. She rescues the Brontës from their admirers and attackers, giving us back three vivid women who, with little formal education, were writing in the days when few women dared to try: geniuses and sisters who, in the words of a household witness in the late 1850s, were “as cheerful and full of spirits as possible.... full of fun and merriment.” From the Trade Paperback edition.
ISBN: 9780375412776Publication Date: 2004-01-13
Class Conflict in Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights by
Wuthering Heights is unique among novels of its time for its poetic presentation, its lack of authorial comment, and its unusual narrative structure, exerting the energies of hate and love from the confined world of the story. The book deeply challenged embedded Victorian conventions regarding gender equality, religion, and class. This compelling volume discusses the author Emily Bronte's background, the details of which are still not well understood; class conflict in the context of rural and industrial Britain; and contemporary perspectives on class conflict.
ISBN: 9780737758023Publication Date: 2011-08-06
The Oxford companion to the Bront̀es by
The Oxford Companion to the Brontes aims to provide both comprehensive and detailed information about the lives, works, and reputations of the Brontes--the three sisters Charlotte, Emily, and Anne, together with their father and their brother Branwell--all of whom were published writers. This is a unique and authoritative reference book for the research student and the general reader. The A-Z format, extensive cross-referencing, chronologies, illustrations, and maps, both facilitate quick reference and encourage further exploration. Entries are also designed to explore scholarly trends and to reflect contemporary directions in literary study. They offer insight into publishing history, biographical studies, collectors and museums, book illustration, and theoretical and critical approaches to the Brontes' writings. This Companion is not only invaluable for quick searches, but a delight to browse, and an inspiration to further reading.
Publication Date: 2003
Wuthering Heights on Film and Television by
Emily Brontë's beloved novel Wuthering Heights has been adapted countless times for film and television over the decades. Valérie V.Hazette offers here a historical and transnational study of those adaptations, presenting the afterlife of the book as a series of cultural journeys that focuses as much on the readers, filmmakers, and viewers as on the dramas themselves. Taking in the British silent film; French, Mexican, and Japanese versions; the British television serials; and more, this richly theoretical volume is the first comprehensive global analysis of the adaptation of Wuthering Heights for film and television.
ISBN: 9781783204939Publication Date: 2015-10-01
