Peer-Reviewed
Here, you're not only looking for scholarly journals, but for journals in which a panel of of experts/peers in the field reviews articles to decide whether they should be accepted for publication. Articles selected by this process are considered "peer-reviewed," or "refereed."
Note: Remember that editorial opinion pieces, book reviews, news articles are not peer-reviewed pieces even if they are a part of a peer-reviewed journal. Be sure to carefully evaluate each article.
How to Find an Article
Off-Campus Access to Databases
Selected General Databases
The library subscribes to a number of databases. There are two types of databases: general and subject. Which database you use depends on your topic and your research needs. A general database covers a variety of topics and may include both scholarly and popular sources. Subject databases specialize in a particular subject, and the sources indexed in them are generally from scholarly sources. The databases on this page have been selected as being of particular value to your class. These databases contain scholarly and professional articles, magazine and newspaper articles, reports, statistics, case studies, book chapters and eBooks.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. Articles can be searched by key word. Retrieved articles appear as high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed and printed.
- Anthrosource This link opens in a new windowDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), this database provides citations to journal articles in the field of anthropological research. The full text of articles in current issues of such journals as American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly are also included. In additional to current publications, indexing includes archives of AAA journals. Searching is done by key words/terms and author searching is also available.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
- EBSCO Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes more than 625 English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere; more than 400 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Full text articles are available in 215 journals, some titles going back to 1995. Subject coverage includes: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, International Relations, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides country specific geopolitical information on the 191 countries of the world. Includes a collection of political and thematic maps as well as statistical data.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
