LibGuides: History M12 Colman: Selected eResources

Recommended eResources

Find articles in magazines, journals, newspapers and ebooks by using the various databases and other eResources. The librarians have compiled a list of recommended databases for you to use for this assignment:

History Databases
EBSCO America: History and Life with Full Text : The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Issues and Controversies in American History: Examining a wide range of topics in American history, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history. JSTOR: This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. EBSCO Social Sciences Full Text: This database indexes more than 625 English language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere; more than 400 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Full text articles are available in 215 jornals, some titles going back to 1995.
General Databases
Credo Reference: A collection of more than 530 general and specialized full-text reference books as well as other ebooks. Includes links to selected Library databases. Of particular interest are the specialized “Topic Pages” which provide a gateway to research sources including Google book suggestions and images. EBSCO Academic Search Complete: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Gale Academic OneFile: A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in a broad range of subjects. Coverage begins in 1980. Gale eBooks: A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. Proquest US Newstream, Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and the Los Angeles Times: A database which includes articles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications. Particular coverage of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 – 1994, and 2008 – to the last three months. Additionally, coverage includes scholarly journals, magazine articles and other sources from ethnic and gender studies sources. Searchable by keyword and subject.

History Databases

EBSCO America: History and Life with Full Text : The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Issues and Controversies in American History: Examining a wide range of topics in American history, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history.

JSTOR: This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

EBSCO Social Sciences Full Text: This database indexes more than 625 English language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere; more than 400 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Full text articles are available in 215 jornals, some titles going back to 1995.

General Databases

Credo Reference: A collection of more than 530 general and specialized full-text reference books as well as other ebooks. Includes links to selected Library databases. Of particular interest are the specialized “Topic Pages” which provide a gateway to research sources including Google book suggestions and images.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Gale Academic OneFile: A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in a broad range of subjects. Coverage begins in 1980.

Gale eBooks: A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research.

Proquest US Newstream, Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and the Los Angeles Times: A database which includes articles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications. Particular coverage of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 – 1994, and 2008 – to the last three months. Additionally, coverage includes scholarly journals, magazine articles and other sources from ethnic and gender studies sources. Searchable by keyword and subject.

Highly recommended databases for your research

What are eResources?

EResources are library databases that contain thousands of scholarly and professional articles, reports, statistics, case studies, book chapters and even complete books. Most of these collections are full-text searchable. Our eResources provide a wealth of information at your fingertips!

We Can Help You!

If you are having trouble locating an item in the database, please contact us for assistance. We will do our best to help you find exactly what you need!