Skip to Main Content

Business Law: Business Periodicals in the Library

A guide for Business Law students at Moorpark College

Business Periodicals

Magazines are arranged alphabetically and kept in the periodicals section on the second floor of the library. To browse the following magazines or newspapers online, click the "Publications" link at the top of the page in EBSCO Academic Search Complete, EBSCO Business Source Elite, and ProQuest US Newstream. In Gale Academic OneFile, go to the "Advanced Search" and click the "Publication Search" link. Enter the name of your magazine/journal/newspaper and start searching within the publication.

Selected Magazines Available in Print and Online

  1. Advertising Age available online full text from 1996 to present through EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  2. Barron's (retained for 6 months at the Circulation Desk)
  3. Bloomberg.com available online through EBSCO Business Source Elite from 2001-
  4. Economist available online from 1988 to present through Gale Academic OneFile from 1988-
  5. Forbes available online from 01/08/1990 to present through EBSCO Business Source Elite
  6. Fortune available online from 1992 to present through EBSCO Business Source Elite
  7. Harvard Business Review available online from 1997 to present through EBSCO Business Source Elite
  8. Inc. available online from 1990 to present through EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  9. Kiplinger's Personal Finance available online from 2000 to present through EBSCO Business Source Elite and EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  10. Money available online Full Text:03/01/1994 To 06/01/2017 in EBSCO Business Source Elite

Selected Newspapers Available Online

  1. Los Angeles Times: Current print issues are kept at the Circulation Desk for 4 months until available in library databases, also available online through ProQuest US Newsstream: Full text coverage: Dec. 4, 1996 - present 
  2. Los Angeles Times (pre-1997 Fulltext) -  Full text available: Jan. 1, 1985 - Dec. 3, 1996
  3. New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast): Available online from 1980 to present through ProQuest US Newsstream.
  4. New York Times Espanol - Full text coverage July 26, 2020 - present 
  5. Wall Street Journal-Eastern Edition available online from 1984to present through ProQuest US Newsstream.
  6. Washington Post available online from 1996 to present through ProQuest US Newsstream.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines ×

 

  Scholarly Popular & General Interest
General Appearance Serious appearance; may contain graphs, charts, statistics, few pictures, known as "Peer-Reviewed" or "Refereed" or "Academic" Attractive in appearance, heavily illustrated with photos and ads
Writers of Articles Articles written by scholars and researchers in the field. Before publication, articles are reviewed and approved by subject specialists Usually free-lance or staff writers
Audience College students, faculty, scholars, or researchers General public
Purpose

To report on original research or experimentation

To provide information, news or to entertain the reader; also may be aimed to sell products or promote a particular point of view
Documentation Always cites sources and may include endnotes or a Works Cited page Sometimes cite their sources
Publisher Often a university, a research institution, or a professional organization Commercial enterprises or individuals
Examples Journal of Marriage and Family, American Historical Review, Social Problems, New England Journal of Medicine Ebony, Men's Journal, Good Housekeeping, People, Sports Illustrated,

Law Journals

Journal of Law, Medicine and Ethics is available in print format in the periodicals section and is kept for 5 years.  It is also available  online via EBSCO Academic Search Complete from 1995 and in NexisUni from 2000.

eJournals

What is eJournals

The eJournal Search portal allows you to access online freely accessible websites and full text journals available for use by currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.  You will be prompted to the MyVCCCD portal. Enter your username and password to access these publications.

Look for full-text online journals/magazines via the Moorpark College Library’s eJournal Portal.

1.      From the library search page, click the eJournal Search link.

2.      Choose your area under Journals by Category. This allows browsing of journals by subject

3.      Select Business & Economics. An alphabetical list of publications related to Business and economics will be displayed. The list includes full text journal titles and the database or databases which contain the full text journal title.