Finding Articles
The type of evidence or information found in newspaper, magazine and journal articles is more specific than background information and can help support your arguments. Scholarly or peer-reviewed articles are often required for academic journals and college-level research. These articles are found using subscription library databases. Moorpark College Library subscribes to databases so they are free and available to you.
View the full list of our databases here:
Recommended Databases
Find articles in magazines, journals, newspapers and ebooks by using the various databases and other eResources.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction.
- Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad database of journal articles and books providing access to more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books. Covers the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in a broad range of subjects. Coverage begins in 1980.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles from five of the major U.S. newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Additionally, coverage includes scholarly journals, magazine articles and other sources from ethnic and gender studies sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowResearch Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas. By covering more subject areas than other resources, it is ideal for serving diverse needs, from the one-time user to the interdisciplinary needs of serious researchers.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases. Includes more than 15,000 studies, industry reports, dossiers, and infographics, plus forecasts on over 500 industries and 40 economies over a period of five years. All information is prepared and checked by a research team of more than 80 analysts.
Finding Articles in MC Library Databases
Search Multiple Databases
- EBSCOhost (search multiple databases) This link opens in a new windowSearch across a number of EBSCO databases simultaneously.
- Gale Databases PowerSearch This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases within the Gale/InfoTrac collection
We Can Help You!
If you are having trouble locating an item in the database, please contact us for assistance. We will do our best to help you find exactly what you need!