Library Databases
Find authoritative information using the Library's electronic resources (magazines, journals and newspapers) from on campus and off-campus. When searching the following databases: Gale Academic OneFile, and ProQuest U.S. Newstream search under the name of the candidate or the subject of the measures or propositions. Log in with your MyVCCCD username and password to access these databases.
Pro & Con Databases
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints
Access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Primaries, political campaigns, electoral college, caucuses, presidential elections
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher provides a comprehensive overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Presidential primaries, political polls, electoral college, the presidency, election security and voting rights, conspiracy theories, democracy under stress, future of the Democratic Party, redistricting showdown, trust in media, Trump presidency
Issues and Controversies
Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Voting rights act, judicial elections, presidential pardons, political polls, voter identification laws, super PACS, impeachment, public financing of political campaigns, congressional redistricting, presidential primaries
ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources
General Library Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed journal articles for any research topic.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes for multidisciplinary research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from reference titles covering all major disciplines. With particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases
Newspapers Databases
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text of Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and over 500 other newspapers
- New York Times Online (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
A New York Times digital edition subscription is available to all MC faculty, students, and staff. The New York Times website covers a variety of topics with unsurpassed quality and depth through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City. The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news
