How to Place a Hold - Request a Textbook Lending Item (semester loan)
Textbook Lending (Semester-Length Checkout!)
Textbook Lending
Thank you for your interest in the Textbook Lending Program. To see if we have any of your course required textbooks, search by keyword, title, or subject followed by "textbook lending" in our library catalog.
How to Get Your Textbook
Please ask at the Circulation Desk if you need any help finding a textbook or calculator. If we do not have a book in the collection, we may have a copy on Reserve for in-library use.
We offer Hold Pickup for our Textbook Lending materials! Place a request through the library catalog. Once your item is ready you will receive a notice with important pickup information. We have step-by-step guides and videos of the process on our Library Guide for Students.
These textbooks check out only for the semester; they cannot be checked out ahead of time for the next semester. Loans for the semester can be checked out starting the first day of instruction. You may start placing requests no more than a week in advance to pick up once instruction begins, but keep in mind that we only hold items for seven days.
A few notes:
-
To borrow from the Textbook Lending Program, you must be currently enrolled in the course.
-
If you would like to donate to the Textbook Lending Program, thank you! You can check in with anyone in the Circulation Department for more information.
If you have any questions about the program, please call the Circulation Desk at 805-378-1450 or email us at mclibrary@vcccd.edu.
Available Books: Large Sets (Click link to see how many copies and place holds)
Please use the list below to check availability of books from the large sets or click here for a complete list of all Textbook Lending titles for the English Department.
50 Essays by
Including both classic essays and contemporary readings, 50 Essays keeps you engaged as you improve on the writing abilities you need for academic success.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend 50 2017ISBN: 9781319043728Publication Date: 2016-11-04
Focus on Grammar 3 by
Building on the success of previous editions, Focus on Grammar 5th Edition continues to leverage its successful four-step approach that lets learners move from comprehension to communication within a clear and consistent structure. Centred on thematic instruction, Focus on Grammar combines comprehensive grammar coverage with abundant practice, critical thinking skills, and ongoing assessment, helping students communicate confidently, accurately, and fluently in everyday situations. The 5th Edition continues to incorporate the findings of corpus linguistics in grammar notes, charts, and practice activities, while never losing sight of what is pedagogically sound and useful.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend FOCU 2017ISBN: 9780134583297Publication Date: 2016-08-26
Focus on Grammar 4 by
Building on the success of previous editions, Focus on Grammar 5th Edition continues to leverage its successful four-step approach that lets learners move from comprehension to communication within a clear and consistent structure. Centred on thematic instruction, Focus on Grammar combines comprehensive grammar coverage with abundant practice, critical thinking skills, and ongoing assessment, helping students communicate confidently, accurately, and fluently in everyday situations. The 5th Edition continues to incorporate the findings of corpus linguistics in grammar notes, charts, and practice activities, while never losing sight of what is pedagogically sound and useful.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend FOCU 2017ISBN: 9780134583303Publication Date: 2016-12-19
The Hate U Give by
8 starred reviews · Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best · William C. Morris Award Winner · National Book Award Longlist · Printz Honor Book · Coretta Scott King Honor Book · #1 New York Times Bestseller! "Absolutely riveting!" --Jason Reynolds "Stunning." --John Green "This story is necessary. This story is important." --Kirkus (starred review) "Heartbreakingly topical." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A marvel of verisimilitude." --Booklist (starred review) "A powerful, in-your-face novel." --Horn Book (starred review) Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil's name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does--or does not--say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life. Want more of Garden Heights? Catch Maverick and Seven's story in Concrete Rose, Angie Thomas's powerful prequel to The Hate U Give.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend HATE 2017ISBN: 9780062498533Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Let's Talk... a Pocket Rhetoric by
Students like little books. They want affordable course materials. They need to read and write and do research. And now they need more help than ever before listening, engaging respectfully with others, and distinguishing between facts and fiction. We've got the book for all that. It's called Let's Talk, and it's by Andrea Lunsford.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend LETS 2021ISBN: 9780393427189Publication Date: 2021-01-06
The Little Seagull Handbook with Exercises (Third Edition) by
Most handbooks include chapters on various general writing topics (e.g., the writing process or the elements of an argument), but few cover the specific kinds of writing students are assigned to do. The Little Seagull has chapters on reports, analyses, and all the other genres that college students are most often assigned. And because it's so small, so easy to use, and so affordable, it's proven to be a popular alternative to larger (and much more costly) handbooks.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend LITT 2017ISBN: 9780393602647Publication Date: 2016-12-22
The Little Seagull Handbook, 4th Edition by
Affordable and easy to use, The Little Seagull Handbook is the #1 brief handbook because students say it has a positive impact on their writing. Intuitive organization, color-coding, and jargon-free instruction for common kinds of writing make it a reference tool that student writers truly use. This edition includes NEW advice for conducting research as it's done online today, NEW student model essays, and a NEW chapter on writing summary/response essays. Available in print or ebook format. Learn more about 4-year access to the $15 ebook here: digital.wwnorton.com/littleseagull4.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend LITT 2021ISBN: 9780393537024Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Making Connections Level 1 Student's Book with Integrated Digital Learning by
Making Connections teaches an extensive range of reading skills and strategies in order to prepare students for college reading. Making Connections Second edition Level 1 Student's Book introduces first-time readers of academic text to basic reading strategies such as finding paragraph topics, finding supporting details and learning to read quickly. It features a variety of high interest topics including national borders, names, food, sleep, natural disasters, and music. Each student's book contains a single-use code for access to audio files of the readings in the CLMS.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend MAKI 2013ISBN: 9781108583688Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Making Connections Level 2 Student's Book with Integrated Digital Learning by
Making Connections teaches an extensive range of reading skills and strategies in order to prepare students for college reading. Making Connections Second edition Level 2 Student's Book introduces fundamental reading skills and strategies such as identifying main ideas, interpreting information in charts and graphs, and preparing for reading tests. It features a variety of high-interest topics including news media, education, global business, population growth, fashion and design, and the brain. Each student's book contains a single-use code for access to audio files of the readings in the CLMS.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend MAKI 2013ISBN: 9781108657822Publication Date: 2017-12-01
The Norton Reader with 2016 MLA Update by
The Norton Reader features the largest and most diverse collection of essays, from classic to contemporary--155 in the Full edition, 95 in the Shorter. With 60 new essays almost all written in the last decade, a new ebook option, and a unique companion website that makes the book searchable by theme, genre, rhetorical mode, author, keyword--and more, the Fourteenth Edition is ideal for today's composition classes.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend NORT 2017ISBN: 9780393617405Publication Date: 2016-10-31
A Pocket Style Manual by
Be prepared for whatever college writing throws at you with the step-by-step advice of the Pocket Style Manual. These tips can be applied to writing in any course to help you succeed.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend POCK 2018ISBN: 9781319057404Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Rules for Writers by
Beginning college writers come from a wide range of backgrounds and communities. And for many, academic reading and writing skills are ones they must learn and practice. Enter Rules for Writers. It's an easy-to-use, comprehensive composition tool with the quality you expect from authors you trust. It empowers students by teaching them how to meet new expectations and by giving them the practice that builds confidence. With trusted advice for writing well, reading critically, and working with sources, Rules for Writers now has even more help for underprepared and inexperienced writers--sentence guides that foster an academic voice, tips for spotting fake news and misleading sources, more on paraphrasing, and fifteen new "how-to" pages that offer practical help for writing challenges. It's an affordable solution with significant value, especially when paired with LaunchPad Solo for Hacker Handbooks, an innovative practice solution available at no additional cost when package with a new text.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend RULE 2018ISBN: 9781319057428Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Understanding Rhetoric by
After shaking up writing classrooms at more than 550 colleges, universities, and high schools, Understanding Rhetoric, the comic-style guide to writing, has returned for a third edition Understanding Rhetoric encourages deep engagement with core concepts of writing and rhetoric. With brand-new coverage of fake news, sourcing the source, podcasting as publishing, and support for common writing assignments, the new edition of the one and only composition comic covers what students need to know--and does so with fun and flair.
Call Number: Textbook Lending Library ; Textlend UNDE 2021ISBN: 9781319244996Publication Date: 2020-08-24
Available Books: Small sets and single copies
The Library has many small sets and single copies of books in the Textbook Lending Collection. Please use the list below to check availability of books from the small sets or single copies, or click here for a complete list of all Textbook Lending titles for the English Department. Note: if all Textbook lending copies are checked out, please search for the book in the Library Catalog. Copies may be available for shorter checkout periods elsewhere in the Library, such as the Main Collection or Reserves or the eBook collection.
Born a Crime by
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * More than one million copies sold! A "brilliant" (Lupita Nyong'o, Time), "poignant" (Entertainment Weekly), "soul-nourishing" (USA Today) memoir about coming of age during the twilight of apartheid "Noah's childhood stories are told with all the hilarity and intellect that characterizes his comedy, while illuminating a dark and brutal period in South Africa's history that must never be forgotten."--Esquire Winner of the Thurber Prize for American Humor and an NAACP Image Award * Named one of the best books of the year by The New York Time, USA Today, San Francisco Chronicle, NPR, Esquire, Newsday, and Booklist Trevor Noah's unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Trevor was born to a white Swiss father and a black Xhosa mother at a time when such a union was punishable by five years in prison. Living proof of his parents' indiscretion, Trevor was kept mostly indoors for the earliest years of his life, bound by the extreme and often absurd measures his mother took to hide him from a government that could, at any moment, steal him away. Finally liberated by the end of South Africa's tyrannical white rule, Trevor and his mother set forth on a grand adventure, living openly and freely and embracing the opportunities won by a centuries-long struggle. Born a Crime is the story of a mischievous young boy who grows into a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist. It is also the story of that young man's relationship with his fearless, rebellious, and fervently religious mother--his teammate, a woman determined to save her son from the cycle of poverty, violence, and abuse that would ultimately threaten her own life. The stories collected here are by turns hilarious, dramatic, and deeply affecting. Whether subsisting on caterpillars for dinner during hard times, being thrown from a moving car during an attempted kidnapping, or just trying to survive the life-and-death pitfalls of dating in high school, Trevor illuminates his curious world with an incisive wit and unflinching honesty. His stories weave together to form a moving and searingly funny portrait of a boy making his way through a damaged world in a dangerous time, armed only with a keen sense of humor and a mother's unconventional, unconditional love.
Call Number: Textlend BORN 2019ISBN: 9780399588198Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Eaters of the Dead by
It is 922 A.D. The refined Arab courtier Ibn Fadlan is accompanying a party of Viking warriors back to the north. Fadlan belatedly discovers that his job is to combat the terrors in the night that come to slaughter the Vikings--but just how he will do it, Fadlan has no idea....
Call Number: Textlend EATE 2018ISBN: 9780525436386Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Literature by
Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLiteratureLab#65533; does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLiteratureLab, search for: 0134047648 / 9780134047645 Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing, Compact Edition Plus MyLiteratureLab - Access Card Package Package contains: 0133931269 / 9780133931266 - MyLiteratureLab - Glue-in Access Card 0133931277 / 9780133931273 - MyLiteratureLab - Inside Star Sticker 0321971957 / 9780321971951 - Kennedy/Gioia, Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing, Compact Edition, 8/e MyLiteratureLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor. _______________ For introductory courses in Literature. Cultivate a Love of Literature... A streamlined version of Kennedy/Gioia's acclaimed literary anthology, Literature: An Introduction to Fiction, Poetry, Drama, and Writing, Compact Edition, 8/e is a book to lead readers beyond the boundaries of self to see the world through the eyes of others. The authors developed this text with two major goals in mind: to introduce college students to the appreciation and experience of literature in its major forms and to develop students' abilities to think critically and communicate effectively through writing. The book is built on the assumption that great literature can enrich and enlarge the lives it touches. Both editors, literary writers themselves, believe that textbooks should be not only informative and accurate but also lively, accessible, and engaging. Also Available with MyLiteratureLab #65533; This title is also available with MyLiteratureLab - an online resource that works with our literature anthologies to provide engaging experiences to instructors and students. Students can access new content that fosters an understanding of literary elements, which provides a foundation for stimulating class discussions. This simple and powerful tool offers state-of-the-art audio and video resources along with practical tools and flexible assessment. The Literature Collection eText within MyLiteratureLab includes more than 700 selections and valuable multimedia resources-including professional performances, biographies of key authors, contextual videos, interactive student papers-that bring literature to life
Call Number: Textlend LITE 2016ISBN: 9780321971951Publication Date: 2015-01-16
Maus I: a Survivor's Tale by
The bestselling first installment of the graphic novel acclaimed as "the most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust" (Wall Street Journal) and "the first masterpiece in comic book history" (The New Yorker) * PULITZER PRIZE WINNER * One of Variety's "Banned and Challenged Books Everyone Should Read" A brutally moving work of art--widely hailed as the greatest graphic novel ever written--Maus recounts the chilling experiences of the author's father during the Holocaust, with Jews drawn as wide-eyed mice and Nazis as menacing cats. Maus is a haunting tale within a tale, weaving the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father into an astonishing retelling of one of history's most unspeakable tragedies. It is an unforgettable story of survival and a disarming look at the legacy of trauma.
Call Number: Textlend MAUS 1986ISBN: 9780394747231Publication Date: 1986-08-12
Norse Mythology by
Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting a bravura rendition of the great northern tales. In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin's son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki--son of a giant--blood brother to Odin and a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator. Gaiman fashions these primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the legendary nine worlds and delves into the exploits of deities, dwarfs, and giants. Once, when Thor's hammer is stolen, Thor must disguise himself as a woman--difficult with his beard and huge appetite--to steal it back. More poignant is the tale in which the blood of Kvasir--the most sagacious of gods--is turned into a mead that infuses drinkers with poetry. The work culminates in Ragnarok, the twilight of the gods and rebirth of a new time and people. Through Gaiman's deft and witty prose emerge these gods with their fiercely competitive natures, their susceptibility to being duped and to duping others, and their tendency to let passion ignite their actions, making these long-ago myths breathe pungent life again.
Call Number: Textlend NORS 2018ISBN: 9780393609097Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Norton Anthology of English Literature: the Major Authors, 10th Edition (Volume A) by
The most-trusted and best-selling anthology continues to set the bar with a vibrant revision of the Major Authors Edition. Major Authors offers new complete major works, new contemporary writers, and new dynamic and convenient digital resources. Now the Norton is an even better teaching tool and, as ever, an unmatched value for students.
Call Number: Textlend NORT 2019 v. 1ISBN: 9780393603088Publication Date: 2018-10-12
The Norton Field Guide to Writing with Readings and Handbook by
The Norton Field Guide to Writing's flexibility and ease of use have made it the leading rhetoric text on the market--and a perfect choice for committees representing varying teaching styles. With just enough detail -- and color-coded links that send students to more detail if they need it -- this is the rhetoric that tells students what they need to know but resists the temptation to tell them everything there is to know. The Fourth Edition includes new chapters on summarizing and responding, on developing academic habits of mind, and on writing literary analysis. The Norton Field Guide to Writing is also available with a handbook, an anthology, or both. To make the book more helpful for multilingual writers, the versions with the handbook include new chapters on idioms, prepositions, and Englishes; to accommodate instructors and programs teaching literary analysis, the versions with the anthology include two student essays that analyze literature and five short stories and poems for analysis. All versions are available as low-cost ebooks and in mobile-compatible formats for smart phones and tablets.
Call Number: Textlend NORT 2016ISBN: 9780393264388Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Passing Strange by
The innovative new musical that won the 2008 Tony Award for Best Book and is soon to be a Spike Lee film.Þ Smashes Broadway clich©s with an electric guitar and the funniest libretto I can remember. ä ÊNew YorkÊÞPassing Strange was nominated for 7 Tony Awards and won the New York Drama Critics' Circle Award and Drama Desk Award for Best Musical.
Call Number: Textlend PASS 2009ISBN: 9781557837523Publication Date: 2009-02-01
The Seagull Reader by
The Third Edition features a rich selection of plays, both classic and contemporary, at an unbeatable price and in a format suited to any course. The Seagull Reader: Plays now includes new writing pedagogy tailored to drama, as well as the same precise apparatus as previous editions.
Call Number: Textlend SEAG 2015ISBN: 9780393938234Publication Date: 2014-12-15
The Seagull Reader by
The best-priced alternative to full-length anthologies, The Seagull Reader: Stories offers a compelling blend of classic and contemporary favorites in a flexible format that fits any course. The Third Edition features the same precise apparatus as earlier editions, but now also features new writing pedagogy carefully tailored to fiction.
Call Number: Textlend SEAG 2015ISBN: 9780393938210Publication Date: 2014-12-12
Siddhartha by
This classic of twentieth-century literature chronicles the spiritual evolution of a man living in India at the time of the Buddha-a spiritual journey that has inspired generations of readers. Here is a fresh translation from Sherab Ch dzin Kohn, a gifted translator and longtime student of Buddhism and Eastern philosophy. Kohn's flowing, poetic translation conveys the philosophical and spiritual nuances of Hesse's text, paying special attention to the qualities of meditation experience. This edition also includes an introduction exploring Hesse's own spiritual journey as evidenced in his journals and personal letters.
Call Number: Textlend SIDD 2000ISBN: 9781570627217Publication Date: 2000-09-19
The Tortilla Curtain by
T.C. Boyle's tragicomic, award-winning novel about assimilation, immigration, and the price of the American dream "A masterpiece of contemporary social satire." --The Wall Street Journal Topanga Canyon is home to two couples on a collision course. Los Angeles liberals Delaney and Kyra Mossbacher lead an ordered sushi-and-recycling existence in a newly gated hilltop community: he a sensitive nature writer, she an obsessive realtor. Mexican immigrants Candido and America Rincon desperately cling to their vision of the American Dream as they fight off starvation in a makeshift camp deep in the ravine. And from the moment a freak accident brings Candido and Delaney into intimate contact, these four and their opposing worlds gradually intersect in what becomes a tragicomedy of error and misunderstanding.
Call Number: Textlend TORT 1996ISBN: 9780140238280Publication Date: 1996-09-01
The Underground Railroad by
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * PULITZER PRIZE WINNER * NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER * "An American masterpiece" (NPR) that chronicles a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. * The basis for the acclaimed original Amazon Prime Video series directed by Barry Jenkins. Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. An outcast even among her fellow Africans, she is on the cusp of womanhood--where greater pain awaits. And so when Caesar, a slave who has recently arrived from Virginia, urges her to join him on the Underground Railroad, she seizes the opportunity and escapes with him. In Colson Whitehead's ingenious conception, the Underground Railroad is no mere metaphor: engineers and conductors operate a secret network of actual tracks and tunnels beneath the Southern soil. Cora embarks on a harrowing flight from one state to the next, encountering, like Gulliver, strange yet familiar iterations of her own world at each stop. As Whitehead brilliantly re-creates the terrors of the antebellum era, he weaves in the saga of our nation, from the brutal abduction of Africans to the unfulfilled promises of the present day. The Underground Railroad is both the gripping tale of one woman's will to escape the horrors of bondage--and a powerful meditation on the history we all share. Look for Colson Whitehead's bestselling new novel, Harlem Shuffle!
Call Number: Textlend UNDE 2017ISBN: 9780345804327Publication Date: 2018-01-30
