Selected Films on Kanopy
Selected Videos from Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection - Log in to MyVCCCD when prompted
Native Americans: Celebrating Traditions: By presenting the experiences of Native Americans from a wide array of fields including artisans, performers, and teachers, this program shows how many tribes are returning to the traditions and spirituality of their ancestors.
The First Face of America - PBS
Native Land: Nomads of the Dawn: "In Native Land: Nomads of the Dawn, author Jamake Highwater uses a tapestry of ritual dance, drama, and storytelling to trace the path of the nomads who discovered the Americas and created the complex civilizations of the Aztecs, Incas, and other South American peoples."
Native Americans Welcome The Railroad To Their Territory
Famous Americans: Native Americans: Over 25,000 years ago, the first people began to arrive in what is now known as North America. This program examines the early civilizations of the Inuits, Aztecs, Incas, and Mayans, and the impact of the Europeans beginning with Christopher Columbus’s fateful voyage in 1492. Also covered are the Native American tribes of North America and their cultures; western expansion in the United States; life on the reservations, and much more. Explore the traditions of a proud people with a rich past and an uncertain future—the Native Americans.
Library Video Streaming Databases
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to more than 2000 hours of film from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries, most from the 1960s to 2016.
- Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A video streaming service that provides access to more than 30,000 movies, documentaries, award-winning world and classic cinema, and educational videos. Includes films from various vendors such as HBO, PBS, BBC, The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, and Media Education Foundation as well as from many independent filmmakers. Films may be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
- Swank This link opens in a new windowThis database offers access to licensed streaming video from the world's top movie studios.
