Find Related Books & eBooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes for multidisciplinary research.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowA searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new windoweBooks in science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers.
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowUncheck the "INCLUDE PREVIEW-ONLY CONTENT."
Find Related Articles
- Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new window Examining a wide range of topics in American History, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window A database which includes articles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- EBSCO Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window This database indexes publications in the area of communications, mass media and other closely-related fields such as film, television, rhetoric, broadcasting, advertising, and new media. Searching includes 570 journals with more than 450 offering full text articles.
- EBSCO America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window Examines numerous facets of societal life across cultures and time periods. Areas of life explored include: domestic, economic, intellectual, material, political, recreational, religious, and geographic. Information gathered from reference works, books, and primary documents.
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window This database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more. The Shakespeare Center holds plays and poems, including a comprehensive overview of every play, performance videos, an extensive library of criticism from the sixteenth century to the present, research and writing advice. Additionally, there is material covering Shakespeare's life and times, his contemporaries, his stage, his language, and many other related topics.
Selected Print Books Available in the Library
Selected Videos in the Library
American Native (Special Collections E184.R3 A4 2015 [DVD])
Thirty miles from New York City, tucked away in the Ramapo Mountains of New Jersey, lives a group of indigenous people shrouded in mystery and discrimination, fighting for acceptance as Native Americans...The Ramapough Lenape Indians. American Native exposes this group's fight for respect as Native Americans, examining their efforts to gain recognition from the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the private interests that may have colluded behind the scenes to prevent them from doing so. Through expert interviews and unbridled access to the community, the film provides an in-depth look at the group's complex past, volatile present and endangered future.
We Shall Remain: America Through Native Eyes (Library Display E77 .W4 2009 [DVD])
A Trail of Tears: A Native American Documentary Collection (Main Collection E77 .T73 2009 [DVD])
Trail of tears : Disc 1 - Cherokee legacy: Documents the forced removal in 1838 of the Cherokee Nation from the southeastern United States to Oklahoma. Disc 2 - Black Indians: Explores issues of racial identity between the mixed-descent peoples of both Native American and African American heritage.
The War That Made America (Main Collection E199 .W37 2005 [DVD]) - PBS
Guns, Germs and Steel (Main Collection [DVD] HM 206.D48 G86 2004) - National Geographic
The West (Main Collection F 591 .W478 2010 [DVD]) - PBS
Chronicles the history of the American West, starting with the first European explorations and ending with the beginning of the 20th century. Examines the impact of the white settlers on the lives of the Native Americans and the land. Also discusses the Gold Rush, the Civil War, the building of the transcontinental railroad, the battle of Little Bighorn, and the massacre at Wounded Knee.