Folktale Picture Books
Anansi and the Magic Stick by
When the other animals laugh at his messy house, Anansi the Spider is embarrassed. He wants to fix the problem . . . as long as he doesn't have to work too hard. Stomping off in a huff, Anansi stumbles into an amazing secret--Hyena has a magic stick that follows his orders. If he steals it, the spider thinks, he'll have the neatest home in town and he'll never have to work again. But the magic might be more than Anansi bargained for... Based on tales originating in West Africa and familiar in Caribbean culture, the five-book Anansi the Trickster series is full of slapstick humor and mischief. Eric A. Kimmel's imaginative retellings combined with Janet Stevens' expressive illustrations create the perfect silly stories for fun-loving kids.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.K567 Am 2001ISBN: 9780823417636Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Anansi and the Talking Melon by
A spider tricks other animals into thinking a melon can talk.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.K567 Ano 1994ISBN: 9780823411047Publication Date: 1994-03-01
Anansi Goes Fishing by
Anansi the Spider likes to eat fish but is much too lazy to catch one himself--so he decides to trick Turtle into catching one for him. When Anansi asks Turtle to teach him how to catch fish, Anansi thinks tricking Turtle into doing all the work for him will be easy. But Turtle is not as easily fooled as Anansi thought. Young readers will light in Janet Steven's bright and lively illustrations and laugh watching Anansi's plan backfire. Based on tales originating in West Africa and familiar in Caribbean culture, the five-book Anansi the Trickster series is full of slapstick humor and mischief. Eric A. Kimmel's imaginative energy combined with Janet Steven' expressive illustrations create the perfect silly stories for fun-loving kids.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.K567 Ap 1992ISBN: 9780823410224Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Anansi the Spider by Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M159 An 2011ISBN: 9780312659462Publication Date: 2011-12-06
Bruh Rabbit and the Tar Baby Girl by
Master storyteller Virginia Hamilton retells this classic trickster tale in her own distinctive, playful vernacular. "[A] masterful retelling...Hamilton's narrative is meticulously paced, lyrical, hilarious, and a joy to read aloud. Ransome's lush watercolors suit the story perfectly.... [A] lovely example of a folktale in picture-book format." - School Library Journal, starred review
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.H154 Br 2003ISBN: 9780590473767Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Coyote by
Wherever Coyote goes you can be sure he’ll find trouble. Now he wants to sing, dance, and fly like the crows, so he begs them to teach him how. The crows agree but soon tire of Coyote’s bragging and boasting. They decide to teach the great trickster a lesson. This time, Coyote has found real trouble!
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M243 Co 1999ISBN: 9780152019587Publication Date: 1999-04-19
Coyote Rescues Hawk by
A traditional Chumash story, retold by Chumash and Tataviam elder Alan Salazar, in which Hawk is captured by Swordfish and rescued from an underwater abode by the cunning Coyote. This book includes information from Mr. Salazar about the history of the Chumash plank canoes (tomols) and his involvement revitalizing their use in modern times, as well as art activities for the reader by Mona Lewis. It is a California Native American educational story, suitable for all ages.
ISBN: 9781735819587Publication Date: 2022-12-20
Juan Bobo Goes to Work by
What can you do with a boy who tries to do things right but only leaves disaster in his wake? Laugh--that's what! Readers everywhere will love to laugh at the hilarious antics of the ever-blundering Juan Bobo, Puerto Rico's most celebrated fold character. In this rollicking Juan Bobo tale, our hero sets out to find work at the farm and the grocery. Although the tasks are simple and the directions couldn't be clearer, he always find a way to bungle things up as only a character whose name means "Simple John" could!
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M765 Ju 2000ISBN: 9780688162337Publication Date: 2000-09-19
La Llorona by
La Llorona, the Crying Woman, is the legendary creature who haunts rivers, lakes, and lonely roads. Said to seek out children who disobey their parents, she has become a "boogeyman," terrorizing the imaginations of New Mexican children and inspiring them to behave. But there are other lessons her tragic history can demonstrate for children. In Rudolfo Anaya's version Maya, a young woman in ancient Mexico, loses her children to Father Time's cunning. This tragic and informative story serves as an accessible message of mortality for children. La Llorona, deftly translated by Enrique Lamadrid, is familiar and newly informative, while Amy Córdova's rich illustrations illuminate the story. The legend as retold by Anaya, a man as integral to southwest tradition as La Llorona herself, is storytelling anchored in a very human experience. His book helps parents explain to children the reality of death and the loss of loved ones.
Call Number: Children's Collection ; PZ8.1.A539 Llo 2011ISBN: 9780826344625Publication Date: 2011-09-01
La Llorona: Counting down / Contando Hacia átras by
A Lil' Libros Bilingual Counting Book La Llorona is a ghost, very prominent in the folklore of Latin America, who searches for her missing children, and brings misfortune to others. But this book is far from spooky. Count piedras in the river, eyes of owls, and red doors where La Llorona may be hiding.
Call Number: Children's Collection ; QA113 .R6214 2015ISBN: 9780986109928Publication Date: 2018-01-02
The Little Monkey King's Journey by
Long long ago, an old magic stone suddenly cracked open after lying in the sunlight and moonlight for thousands of years. From the shell of the stone, a little Monkey was born. Adopted by the Monkey King in the mountain, Little Monkey was very naughty and playful. One day, while playing in a tree, he fell. When the Monkey King tried to save Little Monkey, he was terribly injured. To save the Monkey King, Little Monkey had to journey across the ocean in search of the immortal pill. With help from the Immortal Turtle, the Phoenix, the Dragon King and the Immortal, the Little Monkey gained a powerful body. Could he find his way home to save the Monkey King?
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.L457 Lit 2013ISBN: 9781602209817Publication Date: 2012-09-20
Little Red by
The big bad wolf has a plan?but so does Little Red! Fractured fairy tales meet girl power in this hit New York Times Best Illustrated Book from author-illustrator Bethan Woollvin. ?This is how fairy tales were meant to be told.? ?School Library Journal On her way to Grandma?s house, Little Red meets a wolf. Which might scare some little girls, but not this little girl. She knows just what the wolf is up to, and she?s not going to let him get away with it. In this updated fairy tale with a feminist twist, author-illustrator Bethan Woollvin (creator of Hansel & Gretel, Rapunzel, and Bo the Brave) uses sly humor, striking visuals, and a bit of bravery and ingenuity to turn a familiar tale on its head for modern readers. Perfect for mighty girls as well as for elementary education units on fairy tales! Also by Bethan Woollvin: Bo the Brave Hansel & Gretel Rapunzel Awards: New York Times Best Illustrated Children?s Book / New York Times CCBC Choices (Folklore, Mythology, and Traditional Literature) / Cooperative Children?s Book Center Best Children?s Books of the Year / Bank Street College of Education Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Reading List (Primary) / Kansas National Education Association
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.W913 Li 2020ISBN: 9781682632178Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Lon Po Po by
This Caldecott Medal-winning, classic retelling of Little Red Riding Hood is one of the most celebrated picture books of our time. With characteristic flair and energy, award-winning artist Ed Young illustrates the ancient Chinese version of the favorite fairy tale Little Red Riding Hood. Young's vibrant, yet delicate, pastels and watercolors add drama to the deftly translated story. ★ ''A gripping variation of Red Riding Hood. This is an outstanding achievement that will be pored over again and again." --School Library Journal, starred review
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.Y84 Lo 1989ISBN: 9780399216190Publication Date: 1989-11-01
Martina the Beautiful Cockroach by
Thanks to award-winning author and storyteller Carmen Agra Deedy, you?ll never look at a cockroach the same way again. ?Lively and funny?this telling has magic all its own.? ?Kirkus Reviews ?Spirited.? ?Publishers Weekly ?Masterful.? ?Booklist The beautiful Martina Josefina Catalina Cucaracha doesn?t know coffee beans about love and marriage, so when suitors come calling, what is she to do? Luckily, she has her Cuban family to help! While some of the Cucarachas offer Martina gifts to make her more attractive, only Abuela, her grandmother, gives her some useful advice: spill coffee on his shoes to see how he handles anger. At first, Martina is skeptical of her Abuela?s suggestion, but when suitor after suitor fails the Coffee Test, she wonders if a little green cockroach can ever find true love. After reading this award-winning retelling of the Cuban folktale, readers will never look at a cockroach the same way again. Also available in Spanish and in audio (read by the author), Carmen Agra Deedy delivers a delightfully inventive Cuban twist on the beloved Martina folktale, complete with a dash of caf� Cubano. Teacher?s Guide available! Pura Belpre Medal (Honor Book) ? American Library Association Odyssey Award (Honor) ? American Library Association p>Best Children?s Books of the Year ? Bank Street College of Education
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.D3782 Mar 2014ISBN: 9781561457878Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Maya's Children by
In ancient Mexico, the beautiful and magical grandchildren of the Sun God are endangered by the threat of Senor Tiempo who, jealous of their immortality, plots to destroy them.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.A539 May 1997ISBN: 9780786801527Publication Date: 1997-05-05
Monkey by
Monkey is hungry for the delicious mangoes on the island in the river, but he can't swim! How will he get there? Crocodile offers to carry Monkey across the water on his back, so Monkey hops aboard. Trouble is, Crocodile is hungry, too--for Monkey! Will clever Monkey come up with a way to get the mangoesand escape Crocodile's sharp teeth?Master storyteller and artist Gerald McDermott brings the vibrant colors of India to his telling of this classic trickster tale, which has plenty of cleverness and a sprinkling of mischief.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M159 Mon 2011ISBN: 9780152165963Publication Date: 2011-05-23
Monkey King by
From a fantastic explosion is born the legendary Monkey King, the clever and courageous hero of one of the best-known stories from China. Ambitious Monkey travels to Square Inch Mountain, where he trains with Master Putt to perfect the art of turning cloud somersaults, riding the wind, changing shape, and disappearing in the blink of an eye.Then Monkey eagerly shows off his magic skills by tricking Dragon Kingand battling Jade Emperor. Monkey is so arrogant, he even gets into trouble with Buddha himself. Caldecott Award-winning author-illustrator Ed Young has created colorful and lively collages and specially designed two fold-out pages to animate the story of Monkey King and his acrobatic, high-spirited adventures. This unprecedented picture-book adaptation introduces just the beginning of the classic epic Journey to the West, about the mission to bring Buddhist scriptures to China. Monkey is only one of its many characters, but he is undeniably the most beloved of them all.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ7.Y855 Mo 2001ISBN: 9780060279509Publication Date: 2001-02-20
The Monkey King by
In this immortal tale from the life of Buddha, the king of Benares, after tasting a delicious mango, arrives at the monkey kingdom for more. Can the monkey king protect his home from the humans? Adapted by Shobha Viswanath, the story is illustrated in the Mithila tradition by Uma Krishnaswamy.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ7.V579 Mo 2014ISBN: 9788181900333Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Monkey King Wreaks Havoc in Heaven by Call Number: Children's Collection ; PZ8.1.C494 Mo 2001ISBN: 9781572270688Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Pig-Boy by
Pig-Boy is hairy. Pig-Boy is dirty. Pig-Boy is hungry! And when trouble comes, he knows just what to do. (Of course, escaping trouble comes easily to a trickster, who can shape-shift his way out of sticky situations just in time!) With the tropical colors and cadences of the islands, master artist and storyteller Gerald McDermott brings irrepressible humor and energy to a Hawaiian trickster tale that's been beloved for generations. Includes an author's note.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M159 Pig 2009ISBN: 9780152165901Publication Date: 2009-04-06
Rabbit's Snow Dance by
Rabbit's Snow Dance Master storytellers Joseph and James Bruchac present a hip and funny take on an Iroquois folktale about the importance of patience, the seasons, and listening to your friends. Pair it with other stories about stubborn animals like Karma Wilson's Bear Wants More and Verna Aardema's Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears. Rabbit loves the winter. He knows a dance, using an Iroquois drum and song, to make it snow--even in summertime! When rabbit decides that it should snow early, he starts his dance and the snow begins to fall. The other forest animals are not happy and ask him to stop, but Rabbit doesn't listen. How much snow is too much, and will Rabbit know when to stop? The father-son duo behind How Chipmunk Got His Stripes, Raccoon's Last Race, and Turtle's Race with Beaver present their latest retelling of Native American folklore. "The telling is sprightly, and Newman's ink-and-watercolor artwork makes an ideal companion. An appealing addition to folktale shelves." --Booklist "This modern retelling maintains [the Bruchacs'] solid reputation for keeping Native American tales fresh." --School Library Journal "The picturesque language makes it a pleasure to read aloud."--BCCB
Call Number: Children's Collection E99.I7 B78 2012ISBN: 9780803732704Publication Date: 2012-11-08
The Race of Toad and Deer by
An arrogant deer who is always boasting about his speed and strength is finally challenged to a race by a wily toad. All the jungle's inhabitants -- the jaguar, the toucan, the tapir, and the armadillo -- gather to watch this unlikely competition. But with the help of his friends, the toad manages to defeat his adversary, proving the value of brains over brawn. Domi, an artist from Mexico, brings her signature brilliant palette and charming humor to the illustrations.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M668 Ra 2001ISBN: 9780888994349Publication Date: 2001-08-23
The Rainbow Bridge by
Hutash the earth goddess creates a rainbow bridge--and saves her people from drowning by turning them into dolphins.
Call Number: Children's Collection E99.C815 W66 1995ISBN: 9780152021061Publication Date: 2000-05-01
Raven by Call Number: Children's Collection E78.N77 M33 2001ISBN: 9780613454285Publication Date: 2001-09-01Raven, a Pacific Coast Indian trickster, sets out to find the sun
Sugar Bear Story by
Co-published with the Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History, this children's tale is based on a Chumash oral legend about how to be a good host. Brightly illustrated by the author, the book incorporates Chumash words and traditional designs, and includes a tribal map and Chumash glossary.
Call Number: Children's Collection E99.C815 Y44 2005ISBN: 9780932653703Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Tata the Tataviam Towhee by
Tata, the Tataviam Towhee is the first Tataviam story that is told and recorded by a Tataviam tribal elder and storyteller. Through his inquisitiveness, Tata, a small towhee bird teaches us a valuable lesson. He reminds us that our land will always have stories to tell.
ISBN: 9781735819518Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Tuko and the Birds by
Life was peaceful on the small Philippine island of Luzon. The men fished, the women cooked, the children played games, and the birds sang. Everyone knew it was time for bed when they heard the birds' good-night song. Then Tuko arrived. Tuko, the gecko, bellowed his name five times every time he ate--day or night. Everyone was miserable from lack of sleep. That is, until Haribon the eagle devised a plan to trick Tuko into leaving for good. Tuko and the Birds is a 2009 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.C592 Tuk 2008ISBN: 9780805065596Publication Date: 2008-04-29
Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears by
"In this Caldecott Medal winner, Mosquito tells a story that causes a jungle disaster. "Elegance has become the Dillons' hallmark. . . . Matching the art is Aardema's uniquely onomatopoeic text . . . An impressive showpiece." -Booklist, starred review. Winner of Caldecott Medal in 1976 and the Brooklyn Art Books for Children Award in 1977.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1. .A213 WhISBN: 9780140549058Publication Date: 1992-08-15
Fairy Tale Retellings (Picture Books)
Cinder-Elly by
A lively new twist on an old familiar fairy tale Readers young and old will enjoy this fresh look at the age-old tale in which an urban-dwelling Cinder-Elly used the help of a trash can, a copy machine, and even a glass sneaker to find her Prince Charming. With a jazzily rhthmic, rhyming text and quirky, funny illustrations, this version of hte familiar favorite is irresistible. :This ultracool version of the fairy tale . . . updates the classic with singular flair."--Publishers Weekly
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.3.M655 Ci 1997ISBN: 9780140561265Publication Date: 1997-04-01
Cinderella by
"It’s easy to feel a sense of peace after completing Fawzia Gilani’s Cinderella. This humble version of the classic fairy tale is a gentle reminder that victory comes as much from a peaceful soul as a beautiful dress and a dramatic confrontation." - Luxury Reading Cinderella is one of the oldest, best-known, and most loved stories worldwide, with hundreds of cultural variants and re-tellings from ancient Egypt and China to the present day. In this version we follow the trials and tribulations of the sweet, gentle, and pious Zahra when her parents die and she is left at the mercy of an uncaring stepmother and stepsisters. This is a well-crafted Islamic version of the classic tale in which faith, goodness, and prayer are rewarded in the end. The charming, richly detailed illustrations of Shireen Adams, set in medieval Andalusia, help bring the text to life.
Call Number: Ebook (Click the link and log in with MyVCCCD)ISBN: 9780860376828Publication Date: 2016-12-11
Cinderella Liberator by
"This is a reminder of hope and possibility, of kindness and compassion, and--perhaps most salient--imagination and liberty. Through the imaginations of our childhoods, can we find our true selves liberated in adulthood?" --Chelsea Handler In her debut children's book, Rebecca Solnit reimagines a classic fairytale with a fresh, feminist Cinderella and new plot twists that will inspire young readers to change the world, featuring gorgeous silhouettes from Arthur Rackham on each page. In this modern twist on the classic story, Cinderella, who would rather just be Ella, meets her fairy godmother, goes to a ball, and makes friends with a prince. But that is where the familiar story ends. Instead of waiting to be rescued, Cinderella learns that she can save herself and those around her by being true to herself and standing up for what she believes. Rebecca Solnit is the author of more than twenty books including Men Explain Things to Me, Call Them by Their True Names, Hope in the Dark, and The Mother of All Questions. Arthur Rackham (1867-1939) was a prominent British illustrator of many classic children's books from The Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm to Sleeping Beauty. His watercolor silhouettes were featured in the original edition of Cinderella.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.S4186 Cin 2019ISBN: 9781608465965Publication Date: 2019-05-07
The Dragon Prince by
When a poor farmer falls into the clutches of a dragon, only Seven, his youngest daughter, will save him by marrying the beast. Publishers Weekly praised "Yep's elegant, carefully crafted storytelling" and Mak's "skillfully and radiantly rendered illustrations" in this captivating and luminous Chinese variation of the beauty and the beast tale.A 1998 Notable Children's Trade Book in Social Studies (NCSS/CBC)A 1997 Pick of the Lists (ABA)
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.Y46 Dr 1997ISBN: 9780060243937Publication Date: 1997-10-01
A Modern Cinderella by
In this charming collection of stories, the author of beloved novels such as Little Women re-imagines several classic fairy tales and fables, setting them among the austere beauty of the nineteenth-century New England countryside. A Modern Cinderella a satisfying treat for readers of all age.
Call Number: Ebook (Click the link and log in with MyVCCCD)ISBN: 9781775458388Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters by
A Caldecott Honor and Reading Rainbow book, this memorable retelling of Cinderella is perfect for introducing children to the fairy tale as well as the history, culture, and geography of the African nation of Zimbabwe. Inspired by a traditional African folktale, this is the story of Mufaro, who is proud of his two beautiful daughters. Nyasha is kind and considerate, but everyone--except Mufaro--knows that Manyara is selfish and bad-tempered. When the Great King decides to take a wife and invites the most worthy and beautiful daughters in the land to appear before him, Mufaro brings both of his daughters--but only one can be queen. Who will the king choose Award-winning artist John Steptoe's rich cultural imagery of Africa earned him the Coretta Scott King Award for Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters. The book also went on to win the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award. This stunning story is a timeless treasure that readers will enjoy for generations. Coretta Scott King Award for Illustration Caledcott Honor Reading Rainbow Book Boston Globe-Horn Book
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.S585 Mu 1987ISBN: 0688040454Publication Date: 2018-12-31
The Orphan: A Cinderella Story from Greece by
Once upon a time in Greece, fate left a young girl an orphan. Her stepmother was so hateful that she counted every drop of water the orphan drank! But with the help of Nature's blessings, the orphan was showered with gifts: brilliance from the Sun, beauty from the Moon, gracefulness from the Dawn--and even a tiny pair of blue shoes from the Sea. When the prince comes to visit their village, he only has eyes for the mysterious beauty. Children will love this fanciful folk retelling of the Cinderella story, accompanied by luminous watercolor illustrations by Giselle Potter.
Call Number: Ebook (Click the link and log in with MyVCCCD)ISBN: 9780375985003Publication Date: 2011-10-11
Pigling: A Korean Cinderella Story by
From a life filled with heartache and hardship, comes an unmatched beauty destined for a fairy-tale ending: Pear Blossom, a young Korean girl, leads a happy life with her parents--until her mother dies and her father remarries. Her new wicked stepmother and stepsister make Pear Blossom the victim of their cruelty. They give her the nickname Pigling, or little pig, and do everything they can to torture her. But soon, magical creatures come to Pear Blossom's aid--and one day, the girl meets a handsome magistrate. Will Pear Blossom's luck change for the better? Or is she destined to suffer at her stepfamily's hands forever?
Call Number: Ebook (Click the link and log in with MyVCCCD)ISBN: 9780761346470Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Rapunzel by
From New York Times Best Illustrated Book-winner Bethan Woollvin comes a delightful, laugh-out-loud retelling of the classic fairy tale "Rapunzel." "It's about time that Rapunzel saved herself...Thanks to Woollvin, readers may grow up thinking this just-wicked-enough retelling is the classic one; if they ever stumble across versions with the prince, they may wonder why he was thought necessary." --Publishers Weekly Rapunzel lives all alone in a tall, dark tower. Under the threat of a witch's fearsome curse, the poor girl seems doomed to a life in captivity. But is Rapunzel frightened? Oh no, not she! Rapunzel has a few tricks up her sleeve and she's not afraid to use them. With irreverent humor and striking illustrations, author-illustrator Beth Woollvin, creator of Little Red and Bo the Brave, puts a brave, female-empowerment twist on the classic story of a helpless damsel in distress. Also by Bethan Woollvin: Bo the Brave Hansel & Gretel Little Red Activity Kit available!
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.W913 Rap 2021ISBN: 9781682632796Publication Date: 2021-04-01
Rapunzel by
Surely among the most original and gifted of children's book illustrators, Paul O. Zelinsky has once again with unmatched emotional authority, control of space, and narrativecapability brought forth a unique vision for an age-old tale. Few artists at work today can touch the level at which his paintings tell a story and exert their hold.Zelinsky's retelling of Rapunzel reaches back beyond the Grimms to a late-seventeenth-century French tale by Mlle. la Force, who based hers on the Neapolitan tale Petrosinella in a collection popular at the time. The artist understands the story's fundamentals to be about possessiveness, confinement, and separation, rather than about punishment and deprivation. Thus the tower the sorceress gives Rapunzel here is not a desolate, barren structure of denial but one of esoteric beauty on the outside and physical luxury within. And the world the artist creates through the elements in his paintings the palette, control of light, landscape, characters, architecture,interiors, costumes speaks to us not of an ugly witch who cruelly imprisons a beautiful young girl, but of a mother figure who powerfully resists her child's inevitable growth, and of a young woman and man who must struggle in the wilderness for the self-reliance that is the true beginningof their adulthood.As ever, and yet always somehow in newly arresting fashion, Paul O. Zelinsky's work thrillingly shows us the events of the story while guiding us beyond them to the truths that have made it endure.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.Z38 Rap 1997ISBN: 9780525456070Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Revolting Rhymes by
Did you think Cinderella married the prince and lived happily ever after, or that the three little pigs outsmarted the wolf? Think again! Master storyteller Roald Dahl adds his own darkly comic twists to six favorite tales, complete with rambunctious rhymes and hilarious surprise endings.
Call Number: Children's Collection PR6054.A35 R4 2009ISBN: 9780142414828Publication Date: 2009-09-03
The Stinky Cheese Man by
The entire book, with its unconventional page arrangement and eclectic, frenetic mix of text and pictures, is a spoof on the art of book design and the art of the fairy tale. The individual tales, such as The Really Ugly Duckling and Little Red Running Shorts, can be extracted for telling aloud, with great success. Another masterpiece from the team that created The True Story of the Three Little Pigs! -Horn Book
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.S3134 St 1992ISBN: 9780670844876Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Yeh-Shen by
Told with beauty and grace, this Cinderella story from Ai-Ling Louie is brought vividly to life by Caldecott Medal-winner Ed Young's soft, glowing illustrations. Half-starved and overworked by her stepmother, Yeh-Shen's only friend is a fish with golden eyes. When the stepmother kills the fish for dinner, poor Yeh-Shen is left with only the bones. But the bones are filled with a powerful spirit. When Ye-Shen is forbidden to attend the annual spring Festival, the spirit grants her a gown of azure blue and delicate golden slippers. That night, everyone marvels at the beautiful, mysterious young woman at the ball. "Misty, jewel-like illustrations evoke the mythic past in this Chinese Cinderella story." --Publishers Weekly
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1 .L947 Ye 1999ISBN: 9780698113886Publication Date: 1996-05-07
Picture Book Versions of Aesop
The Grasshopper and the Ants by
This magnificent rendition of a classic Aesop fable by a Caldecott Medal-winning artist teaches children: Don't put off for tomorrow what you can do today! In this stunning companion to the Caldecott Medal-winning The Lion & the Mouse and the highly acclaimed The Tortoise & the Hare, a playful grasshopper wonders why the busy ants around him won't join in his merrymaking as the seasons pass by. But when winter arrives, he soon sees the value of his friends' hard work--just as the ants learn the value of sharing what they've worked for. Featuring a striking, surprise gatefold page, this third book in Jerry Pinkney's gorgeous trilogy of picture book fables subtly shows the pitfalls of procrastination. Don't miss these other classic retellings by Jerry Pinkney: The Little Mermaid The Lion & the Mouse The Tortoise & the Hare The Three Billy Goats Gruff Little Red Riding Hood Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.2.P456 Gr 2015ISBN: 9780316400817Publication Date: 2015-04-07
The Lion and the Mouse by
The Caldecott Award-winning and New York Times bestselling fable of compassion and kindness retold by acclaimed artist Jerry Pinkney. In award-winning artist Jerry Pinkney's wordless adaptation of one of Aesop's most beloved fables, an unlikely pair learn that no act of kindness is ever wasted. After a ferocious lion spares a cowering mouse that he'd planned to eat, the mouse later comes to his rescue, freeing him from a poacher's trap. With vivid depictions of the landscape of the African Serengeti and expressively-drawn characters, Pinkney makes this a truly special retelling, and his stunning pictures speak volumes. Don't miss these other classic retellings by Pinkney: The Little Mermaid The Grasshopper and the Ants The Tortoise and the Hare The Three Billy Goats Gruff Little Red Riding Hood Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.2.P456 Li 2009ISBN: 9780316013567Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The Tortoise and the Hare by
This lavish, highly-acclaimed rendition of Aesop's most beloved fable about grit, hope, and resilience is brought to life by Caldecott Medal-winning artist Jerry Pinkney. This nearly wordless companion to the Caldecott Medal-winning The Lion & the Mouse is Jerry Pinkney's most stunning masterpiece yet. Even the slowest tortoise can defeat the quickest hare, and even the proudest hare can learn a timeless lesson from the most humble tortoise: Slow and steady wins the race! Here is a superbly rendered journey from starting line to finish that embodies the bravery, perseverance, and humility we can all find inside ourselves. Don't miss these other classic retellings by Jerry Pinkney: The Little Mermaid The Lion & the Mouse The Grasshopper & the Ants The Three Billy Goats Gruff Little Red Riding Hood Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.2.P456 Tor 2013ISBN: 9780316183567Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Collections
The Annotated Brothers Grimm by
The Annotated Brothers Grimm celebrates the richness and dramatic power of the legendary fables in the most spectacular and unusual Grimm volume in decades. Containing forty stories in new translations by Maria Tatar--including "Little Red Riding Hood," "Cinderella," "Snow White," and "Rapunzel"--the book also features 150 illustrations, many of them in color, by legendary painters such as George Cruikshank and Arthur Rackham; hundreds of annotations that explore the historical origins, cultural complexities, and psychological effects of these tales; and a biographical essay on the lives of Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. Perhaps most noteworthy is Tatar's decision to include tales that were previously excised, including a few bawdy stories and others that were removed after the Grimms learned that parents were reading the book to their children--stories about cannibalism in times of famine and stories in which children die at the end. Enchanting and magical, The Annotated Brothers Grimm will cast its spell on children and adults alike for decades to come.
Call Number: Main Collection PT 921 .K5613 2004ISBN: 9780393058482Publication Date: 2004-09-17
Annotated Classic Fairy Tales by
Not since Bruno Bettelheim's The Uses of Enchantment has there been such an illuminating contribution to the world of children's fairy tales. The Annotated Classic Fairy Tales celebrates the best-loved stories of childhood through the vision of Maria Tatar, a leading expert in the field of folklore and children's literature. Challenging the notion that fairy tales can be read for their morals and used to make model citizens of little children, Tatar guides readers through the stories, exploring their historical origins, their cultural complexities, and their psychological effects. By providing children with powerful models for navigating reality, Tatar shows, these tales help children survive in a world ruled by adults. Tatar presents twenty-six classic stories -- including "Beauty and the Beast," "Little Red Hiding Hood," "Jack and the Beanstalk," and "The Little Mermaid." She has personally retranslated the stories that did not appear originally in English and has also assembled over 300 often rare, mostly four-color photographs, paintings, and illustrations, creating a volume that will rank as one of the finest fairy tale collections in many decades. 350 four-color illustrations.
Call Number: Main Collection PN 6071 .F15 A66 2002ISBN: 9780393051636Publication Date: 2002-10-17
Annotated Hans Christian Andersen by
A richly entertaining and informative collection of Hans Christian Andersen's stories, annotated by one of America's leading folklore scholars. In her most ambitious annotated work to date, Maria Tatar celebrates the stories told by Denmark's "perfect wizard" and re-envisions Hans Christian Andersen as a writer who casts his spell on both children and adults. Andersen's most beloved tales, such as "The Emperor's New Clothes," "The Ugly Duckling," and "The Little Mermaid," are now joined by "The Shadow" and "Story of a Mother," mature stories that reveal his literary range and depth. Tatar captures the tales' unrivaled dramatic and visual power, showing exactly how Andersen became one of the world's ten most translated authors, along with Shakespeare, Dickens, and Marx. Lushly illustrated with more than one hundred fifty rare images, many in full color, by artists such as Arthur Rackham and Edmund Dulac, The Annotated Hans Christian Andersen will captivate readers with annotations that explore the rich social and cultural dimensions of the nineteenth century and construct a compelling portrait of a writer whose stories still fascinate us today.
Call Number: Main Collection PT8116.E5 T38 2008ISBN: 9780393060812Publication Date: 2007-11-17
Border Lore Folktales and Legends of South Texas by
Award-winning translator and author David Bowles brings together twenty-five darkly memorable stories of the southern borderlands of Texas, retold in his unique voice. Ranging from the age-old folktales heard at his grandmother's knee to urban legends collected down the years, each of these narratives is brought to stunning visual life by artist Jose Melendez. An appendix classifies the pieces and enumerates motifs.
Call Number: Children's Collection GR110.T49 B69 2015ISBN: 9781942956013Publication Date: 2015-06-16
Cinderella: A Casebook by
Covering a period of more than one hundred years of work by renowned folklorists, these enlightening essays explore the timeless tale of Cinderella. In addition to the most famous versions of the story (Basile's Pentamerone, Perrault's Cendrillon, and the Grimm's Aschenputtel), this casebook includes articles on other versions of the tale from Russian, English, Chinese, Greek and French folklore. The volume concludes with several interpretive essays, including a psychoanalytic view from Dundes and a critique of the popularization of Cinderella in America. "Folklorists, scholars of children's literature, and feminists should appreciate particularly the wide scope of this collection . . . now in paperback with an updated Bibliographical Addendum. . . . Most helpful are the two-page introductions to each variant and to each essay which include a brief overview of the historical times as well as suggested additional sources for more discussion."--Danny Rochman, Folklore Forum "A milestone, a near complete source of primary and secondary materials. . . . The selected analytical writing include definitive classic and new discoveries, covering the whole range of methodological modes and theoretical perspectives from early forms and typology to myth-ritual, social-historical, anthropological, and psychoanalytical readings. The annotated bibliography is most helpful, illuminating, and comprehensive, encompassing publications in other Western languages and works by Asianists."--Chieko Mulhern, Asian Folklore Studies "One can imagine several dimensions on which psychoanalysts might find such a collection interesting: as examples of applied psychoanalysis, in relation to philosophical and cultural examination of imaginative material, in relation to child development, and in the correlations between folktales of a particular culture and individual histories."--Kerry Kelly Novick, Psychoanalytic Quarterly
Call Number: Main Collection ; GR 75 C4C4 1988ISBN: 0299118649Publication Date: 1988-12-15
December's Child by
As Reviewed by Eugene N. Anderson, University of California, Riverside in The Journal of California Anthropology, Vol. 2, No. 2 (WINTER 1975), pp. 241-244:A child born in December is "like a baby in an ecstatic condition, but he leaves this condition" (p. 102). The Chumash, reduced by the 20th century from one of the richest and most populous groups in California to a pitiful remnant, had almost lost their strage and ecstatic mental world by the time John Peabody Harrington set out to collect what was still remembered of their language and oral literature. Working with a handful of ancient informants, Harrington recorded all he could--then, in bitter rejection of the world, kept it hidden and unpublished. After his death there began a great quest for his scattered notes, and these notes are now being published at last. Thomas Blackburn, among the first and most assiduous of the seekers through Harrington's materials, has published her the main body of oral literature that Harrington collected from the Chumash of Santa Barbara and Ventura Counties. Blackburn has done much more: he has added to the 111 stories a commentary and analysis, almost book-length in its own right, and a glossary of the Chumash and Californian-Spanish terms that Harrington was prone to leave untranslated in the texts.
Call Number: Main Collection ; E99.C815 D42 1980ISBN: 9780520040885Publication Date: 1980-07-14
Little Red Riding Hood: A Case Book by
Alan Dundes continues his exploration of well-loved fairy tales with this casebook on one of the best-known of them all: Little Red Riding Hood. Following versions of the tale by Perrault and the Brothers Grimm, the essays by an international group of scholars provide an impressive cross-section of theoretical approaches.
Call Number: Main Collection ; GR 75 L56L58 1989ISBN: 0299120341Publication Date: 1989-05-15
The Magical Monkey King by
The ALA Notable author of Red Scarf Girl presents traditional tales about the Monkey King, the irrepressible trickster hero of Chinese legend. Embellished with Hui Hui Su-Kennedy's charming black-and-white illustrations, these hilarious stories bring the Monkey King and his friends to life.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.J49 Mi 2004ISBN: 9781885008244Publication Date: 2004-09-01
The New Annotated African American Folktales by
Drawing from the great folklorists of the past while expanding African American lore with dozens of tales rarely seen before, The Annotated African American Folktales revolutionizes the canon like no other volume. Following in the tradition of such classics as Arthur Huff Fauset's "Negro Folk Tales from the South" (1927), Zora Neale Hurston's Mules and Men (1935), and Virginia Hamilton's The People Could Fly (1985), acclaimed scholars Henry Louis Gates Jr. and Maria Tatar assemble a groundbreaking collection of folktales, myths, and legends that revitalizes a vibrant African American past to produce the most comprehensive and ambitious collection of African American folktales ever published in American literary history. Arguing for the value of these deceptively simple stories as part of a sophisticated, complex, and heterogeneous cultural heritage, Gates and Tatar show how these remarkable stories deserve a place alongside the classic works of African American literature, and American literature more broadly. Opening with two introductory essays and twenty seminal African tales as historical background, Gates and Tatar present nearly 150 African American stories, among them familiar Brer Rabbit classics, but also stories like "The Talking Skull" and "Witches Who Ride," as well as out-of-print tales from the 1890s' Southern Workman. Beginning with the figure of Anansi, the African trickster, master of improvisation--a spider who plots and weaves in scandalous ways--The Annotated African American Folktales then goes on to draw Caribbean and Creole tales into the orbit of the folkloric canon. It retrieves stories not seen since the Harlem Renaissance and brings back archival tales of "Negro folklore" that Booker T. Washington proclaimed had emanated from a "grapevine" that existed even before the American Revolution, stories brought over by slaves who had survived the Middle Passage. Furthermore, Gates and Tatar's volume not only defines a new canon but reveals how these folktales were hijacked and misappropriated in previous incarnations, egregiously by Joel Chandler Harris, a Southern newspaperman, as well as by Walt Disney, who cannibalized and capitalized on Harris's volumes by creating cartoon characters drawn from this African American lore. Presenting these tales with illuminating annotations and hundreds of revelatory illustrations, The Annotated African American Folktales reminds us that stories not only move, entertain, and instruct but, more fundamentally, inspire and keep hope alive. The Annotated African American Folktales includes: Introductory essays, nearly 150 African American stories, and 20 seminal African tales as historical background The familiar Brer Rabbit classics, as well as news-making vernacular tales from the 1890s' Southern Workman An entire section of Caribbean and Latin American folktales that finally become incorporated into the canon Approximately 200 full-color, museum-quality images
Call Number: Main Collection GR111.A47 A55 2018ISBN: 9780871407535Publication Date: 2017-11-14
Once upon a Time/Habia una Vez by
Enter an enchanted world of kings and giants, where cockroaches play dress-up and coyotes fly to the moon! In this lively bilingual collection of short stories, Spain and Latin America's most beloved tales are retold for a new generation. From the grateful rooster who cries "Cock-a-doodle-doo!" to the awesome spirit of the Mother of the Jungle, Once Upon a Time/Habia una vez celebrates seven traditional folktales and tells them in a colorful, fresh voice. In these magical adventures that are sure to delight, readers young and old will meet some of the world's most memorable heroes and charming tricksters. Entra a un mundo encantado de reyes y gigantes, donde las cucarachas se visten de gala ¡y los coyotes vuelan a la luna! En esta colección de cuentos bilingüe, encontrarás las historias más preciadas de España y Latinoamérica, reinventadas aquí para una nueva generación. Del gallo agradecido que grita "¡Quiquiriquí!" al poderoso espíritu de la Madreselva, Once Upon a Time/Habia una vez celebra siete cuentos tanto populares como tradicionales. En estas aventuras mágicas que sin duda te agradarán, conocerás a héroes memorables y a pícaros encantadores.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.M3728 Onc 2010ISBN: 9780061468957Publication Date: 2010-03-09
The People Could Fly by
Newbery Medalist Virginia Hamilton tells 24 stories that kept her ancestors' culture alive during slavery, from spirited animal trickster tales and robust tall tales to spine-chilling tales of the supernatural and moving narratives of slaves in search of freedom. Twelve of these tales are on the 78-minute CD, including the hauntingly beautiful title story, "The People Could Fly." Booklist praised the recording as "an outstanding and most welcome production that both complements and extends the original work."
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.H154 Pe 2000ISBN: 9780375804717Publication Date: 2000-10-10
Tales of East Africa by
Tales of East Africa is a collection of 22 traditional tales from Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania. Welcome to a world of magical adventure--a place where a boy spares the life of a fearsome monster, a flock of doves brings a girl back from the dead, and a hare wreaks havoc among all the other animals. Translated and transcribed by folklorists and anthropologists in the early 20th century, these stories evoke the distinctive beauty and irresistible humor of East African folklore. * The tales come alive alongside bold, contemporary art in this special illustrated edition. * Each story transports readers to an enthralling world. * Part of the popular Tales series, featuring Tales of Japan, Celtic Tales, and Tales of India Tales of East Africa will enthrall fans of fairytales and captivate those interested in East Africa's rich history and culture. Readers will encounter mischievous animals, plucky heroes and heroines, and monsters, and artist Jamilla Okubo pairs each tale with a bold and vibrant illustration. * A visually gorgeous book that will be at home on the shelf or on the coffee table. * A perfect gift for fairy tale and folklore lovers, fans of East African culture, people of East African ancestry, collectors of illustrated classics, adults and teens alike, and bibliophiles * Add it to the collection of books like The Girl Who Married a Lion: and Other Tales from Africa by Alexander McCall Smith, Favorite African Folktales by Nelson Mandela, and Indaba My Children: African Folktales by Vusamazulu Credo Mutwa
Call Number: Main Collection PZ 8.1 .T1455 2020ISBN: 9781452182582Publication Date: 2020-03-10
The Tales of Uncle Remus by
Generations of children have been captivated by the hair-raising adventures and misadventures of Brer Rabbit. Come along as he sneaks into Mr. Man's garden, persuades Brer Wolf to be burned in a hollow log, and kicks Brer Fox's Tar Baby. Jerry Pinkney's lively and humorous illustrations are a perfect match for Julius Lester's contemporary approach, which expertly introduces a modern sense of humor to these forty-eight tales while paying homage to their roots as traditional American folklore.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.L434 Taj 1987ISBN: 9780803702721Publication Date: 1987-04-20
Tales Our Abuelitas Told by
Once upon a time, in a land far away... These stories have journeyed far -- over mountains, deserts, and oceans -- carried by wind, passed on to us by our ancestors. Now they have found their way to you. A sly fox, a bird of a thousand colors, a magical set of bagpipes, and an audacious young girl...A mixture of popular tales and literary lore, this anthology celebrates Hispanic culture and its many roots -- Indigenous, African, Arab, Hebrew, and Spanish. F. Isabel Campoy and Alma Flor Ada have retold twelve beloved stories that embody the lively spirit and the rich heritage of Latino people. The work of four leasing Latino artists and illustrators highlights this unforgettable collection.
Call Number: Children's Collection PZ8.1.C1626 Ta 2004ISBN: 9780689825835Publication Date: 2006-09-01
The Tar Baby by
A richly nuanced cultural history of an enigmatic and controversial folktale Perhaps the best-known version of the tar baby story was published in 1880 by Joel Chandler Harris in Uncle Remus: His Songs and His Sayings, and popularized in Song of the South, the 1946 Disney movie. Other versions of the story, however, have surfaced in many other places throughout the world, including Nigeria, Brazil, Corsica, Jamaica, India, and the Philippines. The Tar Baby offers a fresh analysis of this deceptively simple story about a fox, a rabbit, and a doll made of tar and turpentine, tracing its history and its connections to slavery, colonialism, and global trade. Bryan Wagner explores how the tar baby story, thought to have originated in Africa, came to exist in hundreds of forms on five continents. Examining its variation, reception, and dispersal over time, he argues that the story is best understood not merely as a folktale but as a collective work in political philosophy. Circulating at the same time and in the same places as new ideas about property and politics developed in colonial law and political economy, the tar baby comes to embody an understanding of the interlocking processes by which custom was criminalized, slaves were captured, and labor was bought and sold. Compellingly argued and ambitious in scope, the book concludes with twelve versions of the story transcribed from various cultures in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Call Number: Main Collection ; GR111.A47 W34 2017ISBN: 9780691172637Publication Date: 2017-04-25
When the Animals Were People by
A collection of nine legends about Coyote and his friends as told by the Chumash Indians who lived in Southern California.
Call Number: Main Collection ; E99.C815 S26 1983ISBN: 9780939046324Publication Date: 1983-01-01
