Selected Library Videos from Films on Demand
Documenting Women's History From Title: The Birth of the News: The Story of British Pathe
Women's Military History From Title: FedFlix: No Greater Heritage - The WAC draws on the courage of pioneer women. Learn about women's roles in wars since the Revolutionary era.
The Creation of Women's History From Title: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: Revolution - The combination of Stanton and Anthony is one of the great partnerships in the history of America.
History of Women's Suffrage From Title: The Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: Failure Is Impossible -1881, Stanton is 65 years old and weary of lecturing. She, Susan B. Anthony, and another ally begin writing the history of the women's rights movement.
FedFlix: No Greater Heritage: This film delineates the tradition of courage and dedication that is the heritage of each member of the Women's Army Corps, documents the history and development of the Corps.
The Wilmar 8: The story of eight women in America's heartland—Willmar, Minnesota—who were driven by sex discrimination at work to find themselves unexpectedly at the forefront of the struggle for women's rights.
Extraordinary Women Series - 12 titles from BBC World Learning
Women First & Foremost: Hosted by Academy Award-winner Rita Moreno and Dee Wallace Stone, Women First & Foremost offers shining examples of how generations of women have achieved their deserved place at the forefront of history.
Library Video Streaming Databases
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window This database provides performances of award-winning theatrical productions from across the United Kingdom; including plays as well as musicals and operas. Each performance is accompanied by feature-length interviews with cast, production and creative teams, well-known actors, directors, producers, and designers to enhance the study of drama production from writer, performer, technician, to audience. Behind-the-scenes commentary offer insights on current professional practice and theatrical aspects of making theatre. Includes study guides to provide background on the playwrights and their works, as well as an understanding of plot, characters, language, and historical context of particular dramas.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window This database of anthropological videos provides access to more than 2000 hours of film from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries, most from the 1960s to 2016. Includes classic ethnographic and primary source films to illustrate culture and practices across time periods and continents. Searchable by subject. Also available is a Teaching Edition created by the Royal Anthropological Institute aimed at assisting teachers in the classroom with materials and visual support. From Alexander Street Press.
- Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window This collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American. The database is searchable by various means including subject/keyword.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window A video streaming service that provides access to more than 30,000 movies, documentaries, award-winning world and classic cinema, and educational videos. Includes films from various vendors such as HBO, PBS, BBC, The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, and Media Education Foundation as well as from many independent filmmakers. Films may be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
- Swank This link opens in a new window This database offers access to licensed streaming video from the world's top movie studios.
