Skip to main content

English 1A - Agregan: Definition Paper

Definition Paper Prompt

 

OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY

While you are not permitted to use a dictionary as one of your works cited,

the Oxford English Dictionary (or "OED") can give you some ideas of where to

begin your research. The OED covers the etymology of words. The historical

 origin and development of a word creates an elegant timeline that will help you

discover how the word has evolved over the years. It is located in our reference

collection under the call number REF PE 1625 O87 1989

The Library Catalog

Finding a Book in the Library

Using One Search allows you to search for books, eBooks, articles, media and more.

1) Type your subject or title into the provided box. The initial search results include both print and electronic items. 

To find PRINT books in the library, click the Location link on the left side bar.

  • Books and other items (Books on CD and DVDs) that are in the Main Collection can be checked out for three weeks.
  • Books in the Reference Collection and Topics Table are to be used in the library.
  • The Display Case may include circulating and non-circulating items. Check with the Reference Librarian for assistance.

Select Main Collection. Click on the title to retrieve the Call Number and the availability.

  • Note that some of the items are available in multiple versions, print and online.
  • Not available indicates the book may be checked out. 

screenshot for a search on obesity shows it is available in print and online

Write down the call number and find the two letter combination on the shelves:

            (A-HT 2nd floor, HV-Z and Oversize 3rd floor)

book not available screenshot

Still can't find it? Come to the reference desk to ask the librarian for assistance. 

Checking Out Books in the Library

You will need your student ID number (900 number) to check out library materials. Simply take your materials to the circulation desk (pictured above) for checkout. 

Using eBooks

The Moopark College Library has electronic books from several different companies.  Each company has a different way to access their eBooks. All eBooks that come up in your search results will be noted with Available Online. 

Type your subject or title into the provided box. The search results include both print and electronic items.

To limit your search results to Books only, click on the Resource Type link on the left side bar and choose Books.

Select the title by clicking on the title or the Available Online link. You will be taken to the complete record. The display record includes a link to the full text and detailed information about the item.

ebooks result from NetLibrary

Consult the EBSCO eBooks research guide for specific information about using EBSCO products.

In addition to eBooks that you can access through our online catalog, we also have databases that consist solely of electronic books:

Finding books in the library

The Moorpark College Library uses Library of Congress call numbers to organize our books.  This is an alphanumeric system used by most academic libraries.  The call number is highlighted in this book record:

= 


In order to find items in the Library, make note of the location and the call number

  • The Main Collection (circulating) books are available for checkout.  Call numbers A-HT are on the 2nd floor.  HV-Z and the Oversized (OS)  books are on the 3rd floor.
  • Reference Collection (non-circulating) books are not available for checkout, but you can scan or make photocopies of them.  All of the Reference books are on the 2nd floor, and all of the call numbers start with "REF".
  • Topics Table books are considered reference books and therefore cannot be checked out.  They are located on the shelves adjacent to the Reference desk.
  • New Books and "Year of" books are shelved next to the reference desk.
  • Print Periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers) are located in the low shelves in the back of the 2nd floor, and are arranged alphabetically by title.
  • The Popular Video shelves are organized by genre and located on the 2nd floor, on the wall behind classroom 210.
  • The Recreational Reading books are located in the shelves behind the reference desk.
  • The Children's Collection books are located in the shelves on the side of the reference desk adjacent to the Topics Table.

For more information about call numbers and how to read them, please see the "Understanding call numbers" page.