Get Help
In person:
See the reference librarian in person at the Library Reference Desk for immediate service.
Phone us at: 805-378-1472
Email us at: mcreference@vcccd.edu
Email us your reference question being as clear and specific as possible concerning your needs.
Welcome to Your Philosophy Study Guide
Greetings! The purpose of this research guide is to provide you with tools to assist you in the following:
- Finding books in the library
- Accessing eBooks (in the library and off-campus)
- Determining best practices for Internet use
- Accessing research materials through the databases
- Distinguishing between scholarly and popular resources
- Citing your sources in MLA format
- Using the library resources from off-campus locations
Recommended Resources
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: Ref B 51 E53 2006ISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005-12-1610 volumes. Online access is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers by Call Number: Ref B 104 B5 1996ISBN: 0415060435Publication Date: 1995-12-15
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Call Number: Ref B 41 C35 1995ISBN: 9780521483285Publication Date: 1995-08-25
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics by Call Number: Ref BJ 63 E44 1998ISBN: 0122270657Publication Date: 1997-10-014 volumes
Encyclopedia of Ethics by Call Number: Ref BJ 63 E46 1999ISBN: 0816033110Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Political Theories for Students by Call Number: Ref JA 81 P617 2002ISBN: 0787656453Publication Date: 2002-04-12
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Call Number: Ref B 51 R68 1998ISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: 1998-05-2610 volumes
World Philosophers and Their Works by Call Number: Ref B 104 W67 2000ISBN: 0893568783Publication Date: 2000-02-013 volumes- Encyclopedia of Ethics byCall Number: Ref BJ 63 E45 1992ISBN: 081530403XPublication Date: 1992-03-012 volumes
A Dictionary of Philosophy by Call Number: Ref B 41 F53ISBN: 9780312209230Publication Date: 1984-02-15This is a new, updated and revised edition of a reference work that has proved invaluable as a tool for the student of philosophy, as well as a handbook for the general reader. From the classical thinkers through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant, up to the modern age of Russell and Wittgenstein, this comprehensive dictionary spans the personalities, terminology, and vocabulary of hundreds of philosophers over thousands of years. This second edition of an important and invaluable work has been completely revised, and fifteen new major articles have been added. Now, more than ever before, A Dictionary of Philosophy is a necessary and timely work for the modern student of thought.
Online Periodicals
- Philosophic Exchange: The Center for Philosophic Exchange was established in 1969 to conduct a continuing program of philosophical inquiry relating to both academic and public issues. In 2013, the Center transformed the journal into an online, open-access journal, which is freely available to everyone through Digital Commons@Brockport.
Online Reference Resources
Philosophy Websites
- Ask Philosophers: AskPhilosophers aims to put the skills and knowledge of trained philosophers at the service of the general public. If you have a question that you think is in some way philosophical or relates to philosophy, feel free to ask a question.
- Wi-Phi: Wi-Phi's mission is to introduce people to the practice of philosophy by making videos that are freely available in a form that is entertaining, interesting and accessible to people with no background in the subject.
Check out the following titles for essays on pop culture topics from a philosophical point of view:
The Blackwell Philosophy and Pop Culture Series
Popular Culture and Philosophy Series from Open Court Publishing
Superheroes and Philosophy by Call Number: PN6712 .S86 2005ISBN: 9780812695731Publication Date: 2005-04-20
Batman and Philosophy by Call Number: PN6728.B36 B376 2008ISBN: 9780470270301Publication Date: 2008-06-23
Star Wars and Philosophy by Call Number: PN1995.9.S695 S76 2005ISBN: 9780812695830Publication Date: 2005-03-23
The Matrix and Philosophy by Call Number: PN1997.M395 M38 2002ISBN: 9780812695021Publication Date: 2002-08-28
Harry Potter and Philosophy: if Aristotle ran Hogwarts by Call Number: PR6068.O93 Z69 2004ISBN: 9780812694550Publication Date: 2004-09-10
Breaking Bad and Philosophy by Call Number: PN1992.77.B74 B74 2012ISBN: 9780812697643Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Facebook and Philosophy by Call Number: HM742 .F33 2010ISBN: 9780812696752Publication Date: 2010-10-01
PhiloAvailable in the Moorpark College Periodicals Section (2nd Floor)
Philo is a biannual publication of the Center for Inquiry. Its goal is to publish original, conceptually precise, and argumentatively rigorous articles in all fields of philosophy.
Think by Available in the Moorpark College Periodicals Section (2nd Floor)
Think demonstrates the relevance of philosophy to everyday life and forges a direct link between contemporary philosophy and the widest possible readership. The journal is written in an engaging and straightforward way, but raises fundamental questions about philosophical issues of topical importance.
Philosophy by Available in the Moorpark College Periodicals Section (2nd Floor)
Philosophy is the journal of the Royal Institute of Philosophy, which was founded in 1925 to build bridges between specialist philosophers and a wider educated public. The journal continues to fulfil a dual role: it is one of the leading academic journals of philosophy, but it also serves the philosophical interests of specialists in other fields (law, language, literature and the arts, medicine, politics, religion, science, education, psychology, history) and those of the general reader.