Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
eResources for Controversial Topics
The following controversial topics databases may be a helpful place to start for your assignment(s).
Especially useful in gathering in-depth information on topics of current social, economic, environmental, and political interest, this database is a collection of the issues of the CQ Researcher from 1991 to the present. The CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This database draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as other reference content. This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
Issues and Controversies
Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest. Articles are full text and searchable by keyword. More than 300 topics are included with coverage beginning in Sept. 1995. The database can be searched by subject and all articles may be printed from the computer screen or e-mailed.
Issues and Controversies in American History
Examining a wide range of topics in American History, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history. Searchable by subject, this database provides quick access to timelines, biographies, images, charts, historical texts, and interviews. Primary documents are included which give the points of view on all sides of debates as they were articulated at the time. Information may be printed or e-mailed.
Websites for Controversial Topics
These websites list a number of helpful links for topic selection and pro/con perspectives:
Check out the Latest News to Inspire Your Topic Choice
Google News collects up-to-date headlines from thousands of news publications.
Opinion or editorial pieces may be especially useful when you are preparing a topic for your persuasive speeches.
Spin the Wheel
Take a spin on our wheel to get started on brainstorming ideas!