What is Open Access?
Open Access (OA) means that scholars have published their works online and made them free for all.
Websites with Free Journals!
Multidisciplinary Topics:
- Directory of Open Access Journals A directory of over 5000 OA journals (almost 2300 of which are article searchable). DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
- OpenDOAR OpenDOAR is an authoritative worldwide directory of academic open access repositories.
- OpenStax allows you to look at and distribute information in chunks that can be organized into usable pieces.
- The Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard (DASH) repository is an open access repository.
- Elsevier Open Access Journals has over 100 free peer-reviewed journals. Check out their A-Z list.
- Highwire Stanford University Free online full-text articles are available from Highwire Press.
Science and Medicine:
- ABC-Chemistry: Directory of free full-text journals in Chemistry.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science): Free science journal articles.
- Pubmed Central Open Access: You may be able to find medical articles from PMC's Creative Commons.
- Science Direct has hundreds open access journal articles in the field of science.
- SpringerOpen: Springer’s portfolio of 160+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.
- Wiley has dozens of open access science journals.
Other subjects:
- Math journals: UC Berkeley's list of free online math journals.
- Law: The American Bar Association's free full-text online law review and legal journals.
Dissertations:
- American Doctoral Dissertations at www.opendissertations.com has full-text theses and dissertations from 1902-present