Top History Databases
Issues and Controversies in American History
Examining a wide range of topics in American history, this database combines authoritative, factual accounts with in-depth explanations of opposing viewpoints concerning contentious issues in American history.
EBSCO America: History and Life with Full Text *
The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR (archival full text academic journals in various disciplines)*
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Salem Press eBooks
This database provides eBooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers. The collection can be searched, including by keyword or subject. Print versions of these books are available in the library.
ARTstor (Images only database): This rich digital library includes more than 500,000 images from the areas of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture. Descriptive information is given for the individual images.
*Includes scholarly journals.
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Librarian!
Recommended Databases
Find articles in magazines, journals, newspapers and ebooks by using the various databases and other eResources.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction.
- Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition This link opens in a new window
A broad database of journal articles and books providing access to more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books. Covers the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in a broad range of subjects. Coverage begins in 1980.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles from five of the major U.S. newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Additionally, coverage includes scholarly journals, magazine articles and other sources from ethnic and gender studies sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowResearch Library is a truly multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas. By covering more subject areas than other resources, it is ideal for serving diverse needs, from the one-time user to the interdisciplinary needs of serious researchers.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases. Includes more than 15,000 studies, industry reports, dossiers, and infographics, plus forecasts on over 500 industries and 40 economies over a period of five years. All information is prepared and checked by a research team of more than 80 analysts.
Finding Articles in MC Library Databases
General Database Search Tips
When searching the MC Library databases, use these tips to help you find the best results quickly:
1. Spell names, titles, or phrases correctly.
2. Use quotation marks for names, phrases, or titles:
- "Mark Twain"
- "Hundred Years War"
- "climate change"
3. Combine your keywords together by using AND to narrow, OR to broaden, NOT to exclude:
| Research Question Example | How does sleep affect the academic success of college students? |
| AND | oversleeping AND college |
| OR | (college OR undergraduate) |
| NOT | NOT "high school" |
| Keywords to enter into a database | sleep AND "academic success" AND (college OR undergraduate) |
4. Use the limiters that are typically in the left hand column. You can find full versions of articles, scholarly (peer reviewed) articles, and articles from a specific time frame.
