Video Streaming Databases
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowThis database provides performances of award-winning theatrical productions from across the United Kingdom; including plays as well as musicals and operas.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA video streaming service that provides access to more than 30,000 movies, documentaries, award-winning world and classic cinema, and educational videos.
You will need to create an account with Kanopy to proceed. This is a separate account from your portal (my.vcccd) account. - Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window This collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American. The database is searchable by various means including subject/keyword.
- Films on Demand, Feature Films This link opens in a new window Films on Demand Feature Films offers full-length streaming feature films for instructional purposes from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others
- Swank This link opens in a new window This database offers access to licensed streaming video from the world's top movie studios.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowIncludes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations.
Film Sources (Examples)
The Age of Anxiety (1945–1969) - Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection
-
Includes segment on author, Alan Sillitoe, The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner (PR 6037 .I55 L58 1967 in Main Collection)
-
Includes segment on Kingsley Amis, one of founders of AYM
Saturday Night and Sunday Morning (via YouTube) ~ Film adaption of first novel by British author Alan Sillitoe. Tells the story of a rude and amoral young labourer for whom drink and sex on Saturday night provide the only relief from the oppression of the working life.