Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Ask the Librarian whenever you need help with research or any library questions.In person
Call us at: 805-378-1472
Email us at: firstname.lastname@example.org
Email us your reference question being as clear and specific as possible concerning your needs. It is often helpful to know why you are doing research: is it for a class, what is the assignment and other helpful information. Be sure to indicate any deadlines you have.
Off Campus Use of the Databases
Access to the online databases from off campus requires your username and password. Students may access these databases by logging in to the MyVCCCD website (http://my.vcccd.edu) and typing their username and password.
Go to the Moorpark College homepage at http://moorparkcollege.edu
Login with your username and password.
Click the “Library & Learning Resources” tab.
Click the “eResources Subject List” link or the “eResources Alphabetized List” link.
Elsevier ScienceDirect; College Edition
A broad database of journal articles and books published by or from affiliates of the international publisher Elsevier. This resource provides searchable sources, more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books, in the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
EBSCO General Science Full Text
This database indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain and provides the full text of selected periodical articles. Subjects include: astronomy, atmospheric science, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, earth science, environment, food, genetics, health, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, nutrition, oceanography, physics, physiology, and zoology. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals with indexing beginning in 1984.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals
This database provides full-text access to a collection of almost 5,000 sources "covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more."
Springer eBook Collection
An online electronic book collection of more than 7700 titles whose content reaches across the fields of: biology, business, economics, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, math and statistics, medicine (including nursing), physics, astronomy, and how-to computer software and programming. The subject content is especially strong in scientific fields and the resources include textbooks and reference works as well as some open source journal articles.
Gale Academic OneFile
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
Science AAAS (online journal)
This database provides subject access to articles that have appeared, since 1996, in Science, a leading journal of scientific research, global news, and commentary. Also included is access to Science NOW, a daily news source for scientific briefs. A separate collection of scientific job notices in industry, academia and government is also searchable.
Searching Multiple Databases in One Search
EBSCOhost (searches multiple databases)
EBSCOhost includes all the EBSCO databases available to you from your college library and allows you to select and search across multiple databases for eBooks, magazines, journals, newspaper articles and other media in more than 30 databases all at once.
InfoTrac /Gale Database PowerSearch (searches multiple databases)
InfoTrac/Gale Databases PowerSearch includes all the databases available to you from your college library and provides you with the ability to select and search across multiple databases for ebooks, magazines, journals, newspapers, articles and other media in more than 30 databases all at once.
Provides country specific geopolitical information on the 191 countries of the world. Includes a collection of political and thematic maps as well as statistical data.