Skip to main content

Nursing: Find Articles/Periodicals

A library research guide for nursing students

How to find articles

The Moorpark College Library provides over 50 databases designed to help you find articles on a subject.

A good place to start is to use the "Databases by Subject" link available on the library homepage. These databases contain thousands of scholarly and professional articles, reports, statistics, case studies, book chapters, eBooks and reference eBooks. The databases listed under the "Key Nursing & Health Databases" tab have been selected as being of particular value to your class.

Key Nursing & Health Databases

EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Specialized articles from more than 620 nursing & allied health journals. Evidence-based Care Sheets and health-related pamphlets are also included.

  1. CINAHL - Basic Searching Tutorial button play icon
  2. CINAHL - Advanced Searching Tutorial button play icon

EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Designed for nursing and allied health students, this database provides access to almost "550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."

EBSCO Medline
Developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine, this database is the most comprehensive and authoritative database for information on medicine, nursing, and health.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
This database provides information on topics in the health care area, fitness, pregnancy, nutrition, public health, HMOs, etc.

Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition
This resource provides searchable sources, more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books, in the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.

Science AAS
This database provides subject access to articles that have appeared, since 1996, in Science, a leading journal of scientific research, global news, and commentary. Also included is access to Science NOW, a daily news source for scientific briefs. A separate collection of scientific job notices in industry, academia and government is also searchable.

Off Campus Access to eResources

Off-Campus Use: 
Access to the online databases from off campus requires your username and password. Students may access these databases by logging in to the MyVCCCD website (http://my.vcccd.edu) and typing their username and password.

Click the “Library & Learning Resources” tab.

Click the "OneSearch" button.
Click the "Databases A-Z" link if you know which database to use or the "Databases by Subject" link at the top of the page. 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian

In person

Call us at: 805-378-1472

Or

Email us at: mcreference@vcccd.edu

Email us your reference question being as clear and specific as possible concerning your needs. It is often helpful to know why you are doing research: is it for a class, what is the assignment and other helpful information. Be sure to indicate any deadlines you have.