Recommended Databases
The library subscribes to a number of databases. There are two types of databases: general and subject. Which database you use depends on your topic and your research needs. A general database covers a variety of topics and may include both scholarly and popular sources. Subject databases specialize in a particular subject, and the sources indexed in them are generally from scholarly sources. These databases contain scholarly and professional articles, magazine and newspaper articles, reports, statistics, case studies, book chapters and eBooks.
The databases on this page have been selected as being of particular value to your class.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news. Indexes more than 15,000 sources including: newspapers, academic journals, magazines, wire services and media news transcripts from the major television and radio networks, federal and state court opinions, and federal and state statutes.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowThis resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
- EBSCO Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes more than 625 English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere; more than 400 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Subject coverage includes: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, International Relations, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
Get Help? Ask a Librarian
In person
Or
Email us at: mcreference@vcccd.edu
Email us your reference question being as clear and specific as possible concerning your needs. It is often helpful to know why you are doing research: is it for a class, what is the assignment and other helpful information. Be sure to indicate any deadlines you have.
Full Text Online Journals
Here is a list of full text ejournals related to journalism, mass communication, media and publishing: