Google Advanced Search
When searching Google, use the "Advanced Search" to limit your search results to a specific domain: .edu, .gov. or .org. To use the "Advanced Search," click on the little gear 
symbol.
Websites
- Asian Studies: Subscription Databases and Free Electronic ResourcesThe Library of Congress provides access to over 1,700 electronic databases through its E-Resources Online Catalog (EROC). This research guide provides guidance for selecting and accessing those resources focused on Asian Studies.
- HathiTrustDigitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods.
- Southeast Asian Collection: Asian CollectionsThe Southeast Asian materials at the Library of Congress comprise over 370,000 titles in over 100 languages. This guide provides an overview of these materials, search strategies, and how to access digital collections, e-resources and websites.
Evaluating Web Pages
Whenever you are considering using a website as a source, it is very important that you review the contents in detail. An easy way to make a determination is to use Jim Kapoun's Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages:
- Accuracy - Can you find an actual author? Is the contact information provided correct?
- Authority - Does the author have any credentials? Have they conducted any research? What makes them an expert?
- Objectivity - Is the information biased? Are they linked to other organizations (especially commercial)?
- Currency - When was the last update to this website?
- Coverage - How in depth is the material? Is it basic, informative information you can get anywhere else?
There are many other resources to evaluate web pages. One of the more interesting examples is CSU Chico's CRAAP Test.
Activate Google Scholar
Go to Google Scholar.
Click on "Settings" at the top of the page.
Click the "Library Links" link on the left side of the page and type "Moorpark College" in the "Show library access links for" box.
Click "Save."
Start searching in Google Scholar. Google Scholar will provide you with a link to your Moorpark College Library database articles through the following link:
Click the "Get it at MC Library" link. From off campus, you will be prompted to login to MyVCCCD username and password.
If you need assistance, call the Reference Desk at 805-378-1472 or email us at mcreference@vcccd.edu.