Finding Articles
Information from newspaper, magazine and journal articles are more specific than background information and can help support your arguments. Scholarly or peer-reviewed articles are often required for academic journals and college-level research. These articles are found using subscription library databases. Moorpark College Library subscribes to databases so they are free and available to you.
Recommended Databases for Psychology
-
EBSCO APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowA database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation, and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
-
EBSCO Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowAccording to EBSCO, "this is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals." This resource provides access to journal articles on all "topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods."
-
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed® is a service of the National Library of Medicine. It comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- Google Scholar
A broad search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Not all articles are available in full text. Before using Google Scholar, see this brief video to learn how to set it up to connect you to articles available from MC.
Search Options for EBSCO PsycArticles
Advanced Search
Try out the Advanced Search option to create a more targeted search. To create an Advanced Search:
-
Click the Advanced Search link above the search box.
Full Text
To view articles with full access, select the Full Text limiter under Limit your results.
Publication
You can select a date range to browse by entering in years in the Publication Year section or selecting an option under Publication Date.
Age Groups
Scroll down to the Age Groups section to limit your results.
Methodology
You may also use the Methodology filter to limit your results to an Empirical Study. Learn more about Methodology definitions from EBSCO.
