Databases
On this page you will find various database resources that you can use in your research. They have been separated by databases you can access through Moorpark College and open education resources that are open to all. Many of these should provide help in finding cultural connections for your research.
What is OER?
OER stands for Open Education Resources. These are resources that can be used in various ways depending on the copyright license. Most of these resources use what is known as a creative commons copyright. This means that their work is intended to be shared, edited, adapted or used. Because the nature of the works mean they are intended to be shared they are open for you to use and great resources when working on your research.
Picture
"Flat Classroom Skype" by superkimbo is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Library Databases
- EBSCO ERIC This link opens in a new windowDeveloped and maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the preeminent database for any topic related to education. The EBSCO version of this database includes access to 1.3 million records and full-text access to over 300,000 full-text reports and articles contained within ERIC going back to 1966.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Ed.flicks; Exchange Training Videos on Demand This link opens in a new windowA collection of high quality early childhood video training segments for use in small group presentations, PowerPoint demonstrations, and online learning platforms. The collection comprises more than 140 two-to-twelve minute video segments addressing such topics as: challenging behaviors and risk factors, intervention strategies, preventing obesity and promoting wellness in early childhood settings, nutrition, family partnership, infant and toddler care, child assessment, and teacher performance. Streaming and downloading options are available and videos are closed
OER Databases
- Child Development ResearchAn education publication that ended in 2019 but has open access to all of their previous publications. There are numerous useful sections including Ages/Stages, Development, Health/Safety, Psychology, and more.
- Developmental PsychologyCreated and maintained by Wesleyan University this database provides information on infancy, child development, adolescence and more. Can be a good resource for scholarly information and is an open resource to all.
- OER CommonsA wonderful database for finding open education resources on various subjects
- ECRP: Early Childhood Research and PracticeAn out of print journal from the University of Illinois. Although the articles end in 2015 there is still valuable information to be found within its collection and the articles are open to all.
- Fox Valley Technical College: Psychology OER Resource Developmental PsychologiesA great page with plenty of link to OER textbooks and other resources that are focused on human development. This was created by Fox Valley Technical College
- Washtenaw Community College: Human Growth DevelopmentA great site from another community college. Plenty of links and resources for human development.
The Five R's of OER
OER is often defined by David Wiley’s 5R Framework which list 5 key features that can be found in most Open Education Resources
Retain
the right to make, own, and control copies of the content
Reuse
the right to use the content in a wide range of ways (e.g., in a class, in a study group, on a website, in a video)
Revise
the right to adapt, adjust, modify, or alter the content itself (e.g., translate the content into another language)
Remix
the right to combine the original or revised content with other open content to create something new (e.g., incorporate the content into a mashup)
Redistribute
the right to share copies of the original content, your revisions, or your remixes with others (e.g., give a copy of the content to a friend)