Databases by Subject
EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Specialized articles from more than 620 nursing & allied health journals. Evidence-based Care Sheets and health-related pamphlets are also included. Full text articles may be printed from the computer screen or emailed.
SEARCHING TIPS: Use the Refine Results on the left hand side of the screen to limit to Full text, limit to Academic Journals, and limit by Date. Other limiter options are also available to you.
EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Editions: Access to almost "550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."
SEARCHING TIP: Use the Refine Results on the left menu to limit to full text, to Scholarly Peer-Reviewed and to limit by date.
EBSCO Medline developed and maintained by the National Library of Medicine is the most comprehensive and authoritative database for information on medicine, nursing, health, "pre-clinical sciences, and much more."
SEARCHING TIP: Use the Refine Results on the left to limit to Linked Full Text, limit to Academic Journals and limit by date.
General Science Full Text (EBSCOhost): covers a variety of scientific subjects, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environment, genetics, physics, and zoology.
SEARCHING TIP: Use the Refine Results on the left menu to limit to Full Text, to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) You may also limit by date.
Elsevier ScienceDirect; College Edition: This resource provides more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books, in the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
SEARCHING TIP: Check the Refine to Subscribed journals box. Limiters available are by year, by article type, publication title and access type.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine: This database includes articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
SEARCHING TIP: Use the Filer Your Results on the right to limit to peer-reviewed journals, limit to full text if the box is not checked, limit by publication date, and others.
Science AAAS: Subject access to articles that have appeared, since 1996, in Science, a leading journal of scientific research, global news, and commentary. Also included is access to Science NOW, a daily news source for scientific briefs.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction. Searches can be done within a particular title or performed across hundreds of titles.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from reference titles covering all major disciplines. With particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAn online electronic book collection of more than 7700 titles whose content reaches across the fields of: biology, business, economics, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, math and statistics, medicine (including nursing), physics, astronomy, and how-to computer software and programming. The subject content is especially strong in scientific fields and the resources include textbooks and reference works as well as some open source journal articles.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Gale Academic OneFile: A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Statista: Statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases.
Government data on on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.
"PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
Searching Tip: When using PubMed, be sure to limit your search results under Text Availability on the left menu to full text and free full text.
A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services responsible for biomedical and public health research
Consumer health information
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Searching Multiple Databases in EBSCOhost
- Using one of the EBSCO databases and on the Basic Search screen or Advanced Search page, enter your search terms in the search box.
- Click the Choose Databases link.
A pop-up window will display with a detailed view list of additional databases. - Mark the check boxes to the left of the databases that you want to include in your search. Check the following EBSCO health databases: EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text, EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Editions, EBSCO Medline and General Science Full Text.
Note: Selecting all databases for your search may result in a slow response time. - Click the OK button.
Adapted from EBSCO Connect.