Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Video Streaming Databases
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window Read about Digital Theatre Plus
Ethnographic Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThis database of anthropological videos provides access to more than 2000 hours of film from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries, most from the 1960s to 2016. Includes classic ethnographic and primary source films to illustrate culture and practices across time periods and continents. Searchable by subject. Also available is a Teaching Edition created by the Royal Anthropological Institute aimed at assisting teachers in the classroom with materials and visual support. From Alexander Street Press.
Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window This collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American. The database is searchable by various means including subject/keyword.
Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA video streaming service that provides access to more than 30,000 movies, documentaries, award-winning world and classic cinema, and educational videos. Includes films from various vendors such as HBO, PBS, BBC, The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, and Media Education Foundation as well as from many independent filmmakers. Films may be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
Swank This link opens in a new window This database offers access to licensed streaming video from the world's top movie studios.
Selected Library Streaming Video
The Pathology of Privilege: Racism, White Denial, and the Cost of Inequality by
Call Number: Special Collections E184.A1 P345 2008 [DVD]
Publication Date: 2008
The Talk: Race in America by
Call Number: Main Collection HV7936.R3 T35 2017 [DVD]
Publication Date: 2017
A two-hour film about "the talk" that parents have with their children of color (primarily boys) to teach them how to act around the police in order to remain safe.
The Two Nations of Black America by
Call Number: Main Collection E185.8 .T96 2008 [DVD]
Publication Date: 2008
"In this Frontline report, correspondent Henry Louis Gates, Jr., a Harvard scholar, explores the gaping chasm between the upper and lower classes of black America and probes why it has happened: "How have we reached this point where we have both the largest black middle class and the largest black underclass in our history?" His personal essay draws a picture of growing black success along with the deepening black despair and argues that black upper classes now have more in common with their white colleagues and peers than with those they have left behind in the inner cities. Reviewing the thirty years that have passed since the death of Martin Luther King, Jr., Gates shows that while many blacks reaped the reward of the civil rights movement and affirmative action and gained middle class status, just as many were left behind in an expanding underclass of poverty. The program features interviews with prominent blacks such as Cornel West, William Julius Wilson and Maulana Karenga as well as civil rights veterans like Eldridge Cleaver, Angela Davis and Julian Bond. While they differ on historical interpretation, they all agree that the next phase of the black liberation struggle must be focused on economic deprivation and the class divide."