Recommended Databases
Searching within an individual database may help to narrow your search results to be more specific to your research needs.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Especially useful in gathering in-depth information on topics of current social, economic, environmental, and political interest, this database is a collection of the issues of the CQ Researcher from 1991 to the present. The CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
- Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new windowThis database carries information on controversial topics. Each article will discuss the pros and cons of each issue.
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowIf you are attempting to access newspaper articles and are being blocked by a paywall, you can most likely find them in the ProQuest US Newstream.
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as other reference content. This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
