Database Articles
The library has access to over 60 databases. The list on this page includes recommended and suggested databases to use for finding information on COVID-19 in magazines, newspapers, journals, eBooks, and videos. For additional subject databases, go the Databases by Subject page.
Some Keywords to use when searching for articles in the databases: Coronavirus, 2019-ncov, community spread, COVID-19, COVID-19 vaccine, pandemics, flattening the curve, Wuhan and coronavirus , Wuhan quarantine, severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2, SARS-CoV-2, Omicron.
If you need help, the reference librarians can help you with your research.
- Text your question to 805-576-7552
- Email your question to mcreference@vcccd.edu
- Call all us at 805-378-1450 (because we are currently remote, it is most helpful if you leave a voicemail)
- Chat with us by entering your question into the chat box
Health & Science Databases
- EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSpecialized articles from more than 620 nursing & allied health journals. Evidence-based Care Sheets and health-related pamphlets are also included
SEARCH: covid-19 or coronavirus or 2019-ncov - EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database is designed for nursing and allied health students.
SEARCH: covid-19 or coronavirus or 2019-ncov - Elsevier Science Direct; College Edition This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles covering the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
SEARCH: COVID-19 - EBSCO MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowDeveloped and maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
BASIC SEARCH: COVID-19. LIMIT TO "LINKED FULL TEXT." - EBSCO General Science Full Text This link opens in a new windowPeriodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals.
- Science AAAS (online journal) This link opens in a new windowSubject access to articles that have appeared in Science journal and Science NOW
Streaming Videos
- Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos with access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American. Many web video results on COVID-19 from Forbes, Democracy Now, SciShow, Associated Press, the Economist, National Science Foundation and others.
General Databases - Multidisciplinary (Newspapers, Magazines and Journals) and Data
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowArticles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications. Use: covid-19 OR coronavirus.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowTry searching under:
covid-19 or coronavirus or 2019-ncov - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowSearch under COVID-19. The results come from academic journals, magazines, eBooks, news, images, videos and peer-reviewed articles.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news. Indexes more than 15,000 sources including: newspapers, academic journals, magazines, wire services and media news transcripts from the major television and radio networks, federal and state court opinions, and federal and state statutes.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistical information on more than 80,000 topics. All of Statista's COVID-19 content is free to access.
Background Information
- Gale eBooksGood for historical background information on infections and viruses (MERS, SARS, infectious diseases, etc.). This database does not include recent information on COVID-19.
Controversial Topics Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowThis resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
- Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new windowCurrent issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
- ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowLeading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.