Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daily Life Book Series
When searching in the library catalog, add the search keywords: "Daily Life" to access some helpful books on culture during your specific time period. These books explore the aspects of urban life during your time period, often including chapters on: labor issues, politics, working conditions, class heirarchy, courtship, marriage and family, death, housing, fashion and diet (to name a few!). This is a great resource for all periods of research.
These eResources have been selected specifically for your Popular Culture assignment.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
This rich digital library includes more than 500,000 images from the areas of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture. Images are drawn world-wide from such sources as museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, slide collections, and art reference publishers. Descriptive information is given for the individual images. The mission of ARTstor is to assemble image collections across many time periods and cultures and to create an organized resource that supports the noncommercial use of images for research, teaching, and scholarship.
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Examines numerous facets of societal life across cultures and time periods. Areas of life explored include: domestic, economic, intellectual, material, political, recreational, religious, and geographic. Information gathered from reference works, books, and primary documents. Searching can be by topic or by topic combined with other concepts such as time period and area of the world. Information may be emailed or printed.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
EBSCO America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. Articles can be searched by key word. Retrieved articles appear as high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed and printed.