Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to the Library: Online Library Tutorial

A guide to library services for faculty

Online Library Tutorial

The Library Tutorial (Searchpath) is an interactive self-instructional tutorial designed to teach students basic research and library skills and to introduce them to the Moorpark College Library.  The tutorial is made up of 7 modules covering the research process from initial topic to citation styles:

Module 1: Starting Smart
Provides an overview that introduces students to various types of sources

Module 2: Choosing a Topic
Provides tips on narrowing or broadening a topic

Module 3: Finding Books
Explains how to use the Library Catalog in the Moorpark College Library and contains practice searches in the catalog

Module 4: Finding Articles
Explains the difference between general and subject databases and provides practice searches in one of our online databases

Module 5: Using the Web
Includes evaluation of Web sources

Module 6: Citing Sources
Covers the topics of different documentation styles, plagiarism and copyright

Module 7: Using Primo
This module covers how to search the Library Catalog and periodical articles using Primo, the new search tool.

At the end of each module is a short quiz. Each quiz provides students with feedback and a summary of right or wrong answers.  Students may print the results page with their name and submit it to the faculty.    

Note: The library tutorial does not replace our library orientation sessions.  We recommend incorporating the tutorial and a library session into your syllabus.  Safari Users: The tutorial works fine except for the quizzes.

For additional information about the tutorial, please contact Faten Habib, ext. 1506 or fhabib@vcccd.edu.