Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where do I find periodical articles on a subject?
In order to locate periodical articles on a particular subject, you may wish to use an online database. From the library homepage, click the Databases by Subject link. These online databases are searchable by subject and usually include the complete text of the articles. In most cases, you can print, save, or email selected articles right from your workstation. In order to use the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log into your my.vcccd account.
EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers and almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
This database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers
A full-text searchable, image database containing newspaper publications from rural and urban areas across the U.S. Includes topics relating to the the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Proquest US Newstream, Alt-PressWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch and GenderWatch
A database which includes articles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2013
This database contains more than 200 years of the Times, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2013.