What is Background Information?
When getting started with your research, it is a good idea to get a general overview of a topic or gather background information. Information from reference resources at the library can help you decide if the topic is worth pursuing. Traditional and authoritative reference resources include either print or online:
- Encyclopedias
- Dictionaries
- Handbooks
- Thesauri
In today's world, people generally turn to Wikipedia to get background information. Wikipedia is an open-collaborative online encyclopedia, and although it is a good starting point to use for finding background information, you will have to evaluate the credibility of it's sources.
Background information serves many purposes, such as:
- Providing context
- Highlighting key information:
- facts, issues, origins, theories, definitions, terminology, dates, events, history, names of people, and organizations
- Keywords and subject-specific vocabulary terms for database searches
Where to Search
On the library's home page, search a topic in the library's catalog and use the "Reference Entries" limiter on the left hand column. Here you can do a basic or advanced search already narrowed down to those items which are categorized as reference material. This will include both print and electronic holdings.
Recommended databases include the following:
- Gale eBooks has a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes for multidisciplinary research.
- Credo Reference contains hundreds of reference books on a range of academic topics.
- The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) traces the historical development of words with accompanying examples from literature.
- EBSCO Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia is a widely used and well-regarded reference works.
- Britannica.com is also the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world.
Recommended Articles from Subject Encyclopedias
- Bhopal CaseArticle from Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
- China, to the First Opium WarArticle from Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
- Fukushima Nuclear AccidentArticle from The Gale Encyclopedia of Science
- Opium, 1800–1950Article from Encyclopedia of Modern China
- Opium WarsArticle from Encyclopedia of Modern China
Subject Encyclopedias
Subject Encyclopedias
Subject Encyclopedias:
- cover one subject in-depth;
- contain articles usually written by subject scholars and experts;
- always cite sources of information;
- are written at college or higher reading level;
- are usually acceptable sources for college-level papers.
General Encyclopedias:
- cover a little bit on all subjects;
- contain articles usually written by journalists or staff writers;
- rarely cite sources of information;
- are usually written at a 7th grade reading level;
- are generally not appropriate to cite in college-level papers.
Four good reasons to use subject encyclopedias:
- Get an overview of your topic from a reliable source.
- Gather valuable keywords (words, phrases, names, dates and events.)
- Find related topics using the cross-references.
- Find related articles using the sources.
Tips
Subject Encyclopedias:
- are not meant to be read cover to cover;
- often have many volumes with hundreds or thousands of pages;
- often include useful appendices, reading guides, and other “extras.”
Find Subject encyclopedias in both print and digital format:
- Print Subject Encyclopedias are:
- shelved in the reference section,
- arranged by call number,
- findable through the library catalog.
- Digital Subject Encyclopedias are:
- NOT available free by searching Google or any other search engine,
- ARE available on the library’s website (because the library buys them for you to access).
Attribution: Clark College Libraries