Chicano Studies

The best database to use to cover the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 1,700 journals from 1955 to the present with full text access to more than 200 journals and almost 100 books.

This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines.

NOTE: Under "Filter Results" and "Access," check the box "Only content I have access to" to view your search results.

U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.

The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content. Every page is full-text searchable.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.

This database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news. Indexes more than 15,000 sources including: newspapers, academic journals, magazines, wire services and media news transcripts from the major television and radio networks, federal and state court opinions, and federal and state statutes.

Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest. More than 300 topics are included with coverage beginning in Sept. 1995.

Issues & Controversies in History places students at the center of the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history. It delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage of a broad range of topics, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, economy, and disease, all over the globe.

Especially useful in gathering in-depth information on topics of current social, economic, environmental, and political interest.

This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
More Info

SIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.

The Social Justice Suite includes four databases: Slavery in America and the World, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Civil Rights and Social Justice, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.

This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

More than 400 peer-reviewed journals with subject coverage including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, International Relations, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies.

A database that explores cultural differences and how those differences contribute to and influence global communities.

A database that provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. Includes topics related to all aspects of gender and society, family and marital issues, gender inequality in the workplace, gender identity, etc.

The Social Justice Suite includes four databases: Slavery in America and the World, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Civil Rights and Social Justice, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.

This database of anthropological videos provides access to more than 2000 hours of film from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries, most from the 1960s to 2016. Includes classic ethnographic and primary source films to illustrate culture and practices across time periods and continents. Searchable by subject. Also available is a Teaching Edition created by the Royal Anthropological Institute aimed at assisting teachers in the classroom with materials and visual support. From Alexander Street Press.

Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell.

The world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Content includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

This database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more.

This rich digital library includes more than 500,000 images from the areas of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and other forms of visual culture.

This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR

This database provides access to an interdisciplinary collection of material, including scholarly journals and open source books, in the area of humanities and social sciences. Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Developed and maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the preeminent database for any topic related to education. The EBSCO version of this database includes access to 1.3 million records and full-text access to over 300,000 full-text reports and articles contained within ERIC going back to 1966.

A collection of high quality early childhood video training segments for use in small group presentations, PowerPoint demonstrations, and online learning platforms. The collection comprises more than 140 two-to-twelve minute video segments addressing such topics as: challenging behaviors and risk factors, intervention strategies, preventing obesity and promoting wellness in early childhood settings, nutrition, family partnership, infant and toddler care, child assessment, and teacher performance. Streaming and downloading options are available and videos are closed

This database provides access to practical articles in the area of early childhood education with an emphasis on how to create a welcoming and effective learning environment. Not limited to childcare in the United States, the breadth of articles is worldwide. Articles come from The Childcare Exchange, previously a print publication, now digital, and are written by childcare experts. Searchable by keyword.

A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research.

This electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction.

An online electronic book collection of more than 7700 titles whose content reaches across the fields of: biology, business, economics, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, math and statistics, medicine (including nursing), physics, astronomy, and how-to computer software and programming.

This database provides ebooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers.

This multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases.