Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Elections & Voting Guide: Find Articles

Elections and Voting Guide

Library Databases

Find authoritative information using the Library's electronic resources (magazines, journals and newspapers) from on campus and off-campus. When searching the following databases: Gale Academic OneFile, and ProQuest U.S. Newstream search under the name of the candidate or the subject of the measures or propositions. Log in with your MyVCCCD username and password to access these databases. 

Pro & Con Databases

Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints 
This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Primaries, political campaigns, electoral college, caucuses, presidential elections

CQ Researcher 
The CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Presidential primaries, political polls, electoral college, the presidency, election security and voting rights, conspiracy theories, democracy under stress, future of the Democratic Party, redistricting showdown, trust in media, Trump presidency

Issues and Controversies 
Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Voting rights act, judicial elections, presidential pardons, political polls, voter identification laws, super PACS, impeachment, public financing of political campaigns, congressional redistricting, presidential primaries 

 

General Library Databases