Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Videos from Films on Demand (When prompted, enter your MyVCCCD username and password.)
Martin Luther King Clip Reel, 1986
This historical film packages nine short segments on Martin Luther King, Jr., for February’s Black History Month. Stories include “King Holiday,” “MLK/Wreath-laying,” “Jackson/MLK,” King/Civil Rights,” “Reagan/Kids,” “MLK Bust/Capitol,” “Andy Young Reflects,” “MLK Celebration/Atlanta,” and “MLK Celebration/Washington, D.C.” From the National Archives and Records Administration. (20 minutes)
The Black Atlantic (1500-1800): The African Americans—Many Rivers to Cross
This program explores the global experiences that created the African-American people. Beginning a century before the first documented “20-and-odd” slaves who arrived at Jamestown, Virginia. PBS
The Black West
“Little Black cowboys need their heroes too,” sings Black country-western singer Jae R. Mason, as part of a movement to recapture the Black presence in the Old West. This program from Tony Brown's Journal highlights the rich history of Black contributions to the settling of America’s western frontier, exposing this legacy through song, rare photos, and film.
Black Opinion: The Invisible Person on TV
Tony Brown and his guests Stephanie Jones and Paul Braithwaite discuss the lack of African-American viewpoints on Sunday morning talk shows in this program from Tony Brown's Journal.
The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross
Written and presented by Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr., director of W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research at Harvard University, this six-hour series explores the evolution of the African-American people, as well as the multiplicity of cultural institutions, political strategies, and religious and social perspectives they developed -- forging their own history, culture and society against unimaginable odds.
African-American Lives: The Promise of Freedom
This program looks at how African-Americans defined their freedom after slavery. Henry Louis Gates Jr. reviews courthouse records of land acquisitions, documents from the Freedmen's Bureau, and the 1870 census—the first in which African-Americans were counted as citizens, not property—to trace his subjects’ lineages through Reconstruction
African Americans Who Left their Stamp on History
African Americans Who Left their Stamp on History is a four-part series. For further information, please reference the unique episodic descriptions.
Do the Right Thing
Spike Lee wrote "Do the Right Thing" as an exploration of racial animosity in New York. Actor Ossie Davis comments on Spike Lee's reception in Hollywood and in the black community.
Selected DVDs in the Library
The Two Nations of Black America
Call Number: Main Collection E185.8 .T96 2008 [DVD]
"In this Frontline report, correspondent Henry Louis Gates, Jr., a Harvard scholar, explores the gaping chasm between the upper and lower classes of black America and probes why it has happened.
I am a Man
Call Number: Special Collections E 185.86 .I16 2006 [DVD]
An exploration of "what it means to be a black man in America ... [confronting] issues of race, and racism, through the lens of gender, probing deep within the traditional American ideals of manhood in order to draw out the complex and often ambivalent nature of black male identity"--Container.
Library Streaming Video Databases
- Ethnographic Video Online
Access to more than 2000 hours of film from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries, most from the 1960s to 2016.
- Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection
This collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American.
A video streaming service that provides access to more than 30,000 movies, documentaries, award-winning world and classic cinema, and educational videos. Includes films from various vendors such as HBO, PBS, BBC, The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, and Media Education Foundation as well as from many independent filmmakers. Films may be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
This database offers access to licensed streaming video from the world's top movie studios.