Literary Databases of the Moorpark College Library
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new windowThis database includes reference essays, topics in fine art and dance, scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works. The database has full-length videos of classic plays and films, hundreds of full-texts, classic works, full-text poems, and stories, and more. The Shakespeare Center holds plays and poems, including a comprehensive overview of every play, performance videos, an extensive library of criticism from the sixteenth century to the present, research and writing advice. Additionally, there is material covering Shakespeare's life and times, his contemporaries, his stage, his language, and many other related topics.
- EBSCOhost (search multiple databases) This link opens in a new windowSearch across a number of EBSCO databases simultaneously.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Unlock information in primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell. We have integrated Literature Resources from Gale and Literature Criticism Online into a single research environment to help you take your research to new levels.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The entries cover more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Articles may be printed from the computer screen or e-mailed.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This archive provides access to back issues of more than 500 scholarly journals spanning many disciplines. This is not a current issues database; typically there is a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR. Articles can be searched by key word. Retrieved articles appear as high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed and printed.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to an interdisciplinary collection of material, including scholarly journals and open source books, in the area of humanities and social sciences. Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University Press.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new windowThis database provides ebooks in numerous areas of study and research including science, history and historical primary sources, literature and literary criticism, psychology and behavioral sciences, and careers. The collection can be searched, including by keyword or subject. Print versions of these books are available in the library.
This database includes literary criticism from scholarly journals, as well as work overviews from reference books.
For best results, use the "Works Search" search to find information on poems, short stories, novels and plays.
Use the "Person Search" to get information on a particular author.
A "Works Search" on George Orwell's novel Animal Farm yields the following results:
Literature Resource Center
For best results, use the "Works Search" search to find information on poems, short stories, novels and plays.
Use the "Person Search" to get information on a particular author.
To locate print reference sources, you may use the Gale Literary Index. For more information on this process, please refer to the "Finding Critical Essays in Reference" tab under the "Books" tab of this guide.
A "Works Search" of George Orwell's novel Animal Farm gives the following results:
Clicking on the second choice in the list yields the following:
Note the "Content Types" in the right-hand column. You can click any of the links to get the full list of results for each type of resource.