OneSearch
Articles from the Library Databases - Login to the MyVCCCD portal when prompted.
U.S.-Russian Relations: Should the United States Take a More Aggressive Stance Toward Russia? Issues & Controversies, updated Sept. 13, 2022.
Justice, Glen. "Misinformation and the Media: Can Legitimate News Outlets Regain Trust in the “Fake News” Era?." CQ Researcher, 28 Jan. 2022, pp. 1-30.
Fake News: Does Fake News Pose a Significant Problem for Democracy? Issues & Controversies, March 2017, updated Nov. 4, 2020.
By the Numbers: Fake News Issues & Controversies, March 2017, updated Nov. 4, 2020.
Social Media and Free Speech: Should Social Media Companies Do More to Combat Disinformation and Extremism on Their Platforms? Issues & Controversies, 28 May 2020, updated June 4, 2021.
Fake News in the U.S. 2016-2020 / Statista dossier on fake news in the U.S. (You will find more statistics at Statista)
Kiener, Robert. "Media Bias." CQ Researcher, 3 May 2013, pp. 401-24.
Glazer, Sarah. "Expertise Under Assault." CQ Researcher, 5 March 2021, pp. 1-29.
Jamieson, Kathleen Hall. "How to Counter Covid Misinformation." Scientific American, April 2021, pp.41-51.
Social Media and Free Speech: Should Social Media Companies Do More to Combat Disinformation and Extremism on Their Platforms? Issues & Controversies, June 7, 2023.
Library Databases -- Login to the MyVCCCD portal when prompted.
Suggested Search Terms: Fake News, Misinformation, Disinformation, Deep Fake Videos, Clickbait
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to information on topics in law and legal research, companies and business, and health and medicine; coverage also includes subjects in the news. Indexes more than 15,000 sources including: newspapers, academic journals, magazines, wire services and media news transcripts from the major television and radio networks, federal and state court opinions, and federal and state statutes. Many of the articles are in full text; some are in abstract form. News information is updated daily and wire services are updated several times daily.
- EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to more than 860 full-text newspapers and almost 1 million television and radio news transcripts.
- New York Times Online (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
A New York Times digital edition subscription is available to all MC faculty, students, and staff.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Especially useful in gathering in-depth information on topics of current social, economic, environmental, and political interest, this database is a collection of the issues of the CQ Researcher from 1991 to the present. The CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
- Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest. Articles are full text and searchable by keyword. More than 300 topics are included with coverage beginning in Sept. 1995. The database can be searched by subject and all articles may be printed from the computer screen or e-mailed.
- Gale In Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
This database draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as other reference content. This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
- Issues and Controversies in History This link opens in a new windowIssues & Controversies in History places students at the center of the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history, exploring the issues as the key players saw them, or, in some cases, as historians have interpreted them. Formerly known as Issues & Controversies in American History, this comprehensive reference database has been expanded to cover every region of the world from antiquity to the present. It delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage of a broad range of topics, from slavery, empire, and revolution to race, gender, economy, and disease, all over the globe.
- ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new windowSIRS Issues Researcher is an editorially curated pro/con database designed for middle and high school students, university undergraduates, instructors, and librarians. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources. All content is 100% full-text and selected from authoritative magazines, newspapers, photographs, books, statistics, infographics, websites, and more.
Suggested Search Terms: Fake News, Misinformation, Disinformation, Deep Fake Videos, Clickbait
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from reference titles covering all major disciplines. With particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Many of the articles are full-text and available in both PDF and HTML formats. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2014.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- EBSCO Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes publications in the area of communications, mass media and other closely-related fields such as film, television, rhetoric, broadcasting, advertising, and new media. Searching includes 570 journals with more than 450 offering full text articles.
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowFor information on topics in the health care area, this database includes articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. The database covers materials printed from 1980 to the present and may be searched by subject. Full text articles may be printed from the computer screen or e-mailed.
- EBSCO CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides subject and keyword searching capabilities to specialized articles from more than 620 nursing & allied health journals. Evidence-based Care Sheets and health-related pamphlets are also included. Full text articles may be printed from the computer screen or emailed.
- EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database is designed for nursing and allied health students and provides access to almost "550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names."
- Statista This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database collects statistical information, both qualitative and quantitative, on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases. Includes more than 15,000 studies, industry reports, dossiers, and infographics, plus forecasts on over 500 industries and 40 economies over a period of five years. All information is prepared and checked by a research team of more than 80 analysts.
Suggested Search Terms: Fake News, Misinformation, Disinformation, Deep Fake Videos, Clickbait.
OneSearch - Search the Moorpark College Library's collection
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowAn online electronic book collection of more than 7700 titles whose content reaches across the fields of: biology, business, economics, chemistry, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences, law, math and statistics, medicine (including nursing), physics, astronomy, and how-to computer software and programming. The subject content is especially strong in scientific fields and the resources include textbooks and reference works as well as some open source journal articles.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference volumes, in ebook format, for multidisciplinary research. The diverse subject areas from which the volumes have been chosen include: Arts, Literature, Biography, Sciences, and Social Sciences. These reference materials, originally published in print format, are now accessible electronically and can be searched by keyword, article title, or subject. Articles may be printed or e-mailed.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThis electronic library is a searchable collection of more than 14,000 ebooks. Sources include reference books, scholarly monographs, fiction, and non-fiction. Searches can be done within a particular title or performed across hundreds of titles.
- Films on Demand, Feature Films This link opens in a new windowFilms on Demand Feature Films offers full-length streaming feature films for instructional purposes from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A video streaming service that provides access to more than 30,000 movies, documentaries, award-winning world and classic cinema, and educational videos. Includes films from various vendors such as HBO, PBS, BBC, The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, and Media Education Foundation as well as from many independent filmmakers. Films may be viewed on TVs, mobile phones, tablets and online.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowThis database of anthropological videos provides access to more than 2000 hours of film from raw field footage to crafted ethnographies and documentaries, most from the 1960s to 2016. Includes classic ethnographic and primary source films to illustrate culture and practices across time periods and continents. Searchable by subject. Also available is a Teaching Edition created by the Royal Anthropological Institute aimed at assisting teachers in the classroom with materials and visual support. From Alexander Street Press.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
- Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American. The database is searchable by various means including subject/keyword.