Skip to main content

Library Guide for Faculty & Staff During COVID-19

This guide is for faculty & staff who are off campus and need guidance on accessing library resources at Moorpark College during the COVID-19 closure.

Library Databases

Library Databases 

  • Can be used off campus with your VCCCD username and password
  • Contain searchable information about subjects or studies for reading, writing, and research
  • Similar to mini search engines with authoritative and credible information
  • Resources are free and you can download, print, and email them to yourself
  • Students gain exclusive access to scholarly sources, like peer-reviewed articles journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and reference materials
  • Articles from databases can also contain citation generators to create references

Library Databases by Subject

Credo Reference 

  • Contains full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books.

Gale eBooks

  • Online reference database with eBooks that covers multiple topics, including history, medicine, and law.

CQ Researcher

  • In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Gale Academic OneFile 

  • Provides articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete

  • Multidisciplinary database with journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.

EBSCO Communication & Mass Media Collection

  • Communication studies database with full-text journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.

CQ Researcher

  • In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context 

  • Covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.

Issues & Controversies

  • Helps researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.

Issues & Controversies in American History

  • Delivers dynamic, concise, and balanced coverage that provides the background, outcome, and contemporary points of view for every major debate and conflict in American history. Recent controversies include Coronavirus and Paying College Athletes.

Proquest US Newsstream, Alt-PressWatch*, Ethnic NewsWatch*, GenderWatch* 

  • Access to the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, The Economist, The Atlantic, Foreign Affairs, The Guardian, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe.

NexisUni

  • Includes news, publications, court cases, law reviews, company information, and country information for Political Science, Business and Criminal Justice majors.

How to Find an Article with OneSearch