OneSearch
Finding Books
Finding a Book in the Library - Video Tutorial
Using OneSearch allows you to search for books, eBooks, articles, media and more.
1) Type your subject or title into the provided box. The initial search results include both print and electronic items.
To find PRINT books in the library, click the Location link on the left side bar.
- Books and other items (Books on CD and DVDs) that are in the Main Collection can be checked out for three weeks.
- Books in the Reference Collection and Topics Table are to be used in the library.
- The Display Case may include circulating and non-circulating items. Check with the Reference Librarian for assistance.
Select Main Collection. Click on the title to retrieve the call number and the availability.
- Note that some of the items are available in multiple versions, print and online.
- Not available indicates the book may be checked out.
Write down the call number and find the two letter combination on the shelves:
(A-HT 2nd floor, HV-Z and Oversize 3rd floor)
Still can't find it? Come to the reference desk to ask the librarian for assistance.
All eBooks that come up in your search results will be noted with Available Online.
Type your subject or title into the provided box. The search results include both print and electronic items.
To limit your search results to Books only, click on the Resource Type link on the left side bar and choose Books.
Select the title by clicking on the title or the Available Online link. You will be taken to the complete record. The display record includes a link to the full text and detailed information about the item.
In this example, to open the book, click on the NetLibrary, Inc. link and you will access the digital content for the item. (Note: if you are accessing this title from off-campus, you will be prompted to login to your MyVCCCD account). To access a specific chapter simply click on the chapter's title. To access the entire book, click on the PDF Full Text.
The electronic database Gale Literary Index is a tool to look up books that appears in our print Gale literary criticism reference collection.
Whether you are looking for an author or a certain title, the results in Gale's Literary Index will list the reference book print resources, followed by the volume number in bold, and then the page numbers. For example, running a title search for Animal Farm by Orson Welles, we get the following results:
Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults, volume(s) 5: 2124-30
Children's Literature Review, volume(s)68:115-85; 171:95, 114
Literature and Its Times, volume(s) 4:14-20
Novels for Students, volume(s) 3:1-13
Reference Guide to English Literature (St. James Press, an imprint of Gale), edition(s) 2:1462-63
Short Story Criticism, volume(s) 68:1-62
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, volume(s)2:497-98, 500-01, 504-07, 510-12, 514; 6:344-45, 348, 351, 353; 15:299-300, 302, 308, 319, 321-23, 325-26, 329-30, 333-35, 343, 353-54, 364; 31:176-80; 51:221, 227, 237, 242- 43, 246, 264-65; 128:258-62, 264-67, 270-72, 278-79, 286, 290, 293, 296, 298, 307, 310-11; 129:223, 225, 228, 235, 244, 246-47, 251, 255, 259, 261, 264; 276:65, 76, 89, 112, 115-16, 118, 121-23, 136-37
World Literature Criticism, edition(s) 4:2575-78, 2581-83, 2585
You can then search these titles in the book catalog to see if they are part of the Moorpark College Library collection.
Contemporary Literary Criticism by Call Number: REF PN771 .C59 v. 180ISBN: 0787667536Publication Date: 2003-12-01See section on Contemporary Feminist Criticism (in volume 180).
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism by Call Number: REF PN771 .T93 v.134ISBN: 9780787670337Publication Date: 2003-05-30See section on Marxist Criticism (in volume 134).
A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816062430Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism by Call Number: REF PN 75.E53 E53 1999 v.1-2ISBN: 1579581447Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Literary Movements for StudentsCall Number: REF PN 597 .L58 2002 v. 1-2ISBN: 0787665177Publication Date: 2002-09-18This set is available in the library reference collection and also online via the Gale Virtual Reference Library database.
