Library Databases
Find authoritative information using the Library's electronic resources (magazines, journals and newspapers) from on campus and off-campus. When searching the following databases: Gale Academic OneFile, eLibrary, and ProQuest, search under the name of the candidate or the subject of the measures or propositions. Log in with your MyVCCCD username and password to access these databases.
Pro & Con Databases
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
This resource examines social issues and provides access to a large collection of viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, biographies, court-case overviews, links to websites, podcasts, and image galleries.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Primaries, political campaigns, electoral college, caucuses, presidential elections
CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher is published each week and each publication, usually some 20+ pages in length, provides an comprehensive and objective overview of a single topic as well as a detailed analysis, a pro-con argument, and an annotated bibliography suggesting further research.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Presidential primaries, political polls, electoral college , the presidency, election security and voting rights, conspiracy theories, democracy under stress, future of the Democratic Party, redistricting showdown, trust in media, Trump presidency
Issues and Controversies
Current issues database that provides objective analysis of opposing points of view on topics of current and historical interest.
RELATED SUBJECTS: Voting rights act, judicial elections, presidential pardons, political polls, voter identification laws, super PACS, impeachement, public financing of political campaigns, congressional redistricting, presidential primaries
General Library Databases
- ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowU.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, U.S. Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA database of peer-reviewed articles from nearly 13,000 academic journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database collects statistical information on more than 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources such as market research reports, scientific journals, and government databases.
