Skip to main content

New Databases in the Moorpark College Library: Home

New databases added to the Moorpark College Library

Films on Demand, Master Academic Collection

This collection of streaming videos provides access to more than 20,000 full-length productions and 300,000 video clips, all closed-captioned, covering topics in the humanities and social sciences, business and economics, science, health, technical education, and careers. Producers include A&E, BBC, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities and Sciences, National Geographic, and Scientific American. The database is searchable by various means including subject/keyword.

The Shakespeare Collection

This collection provides access to authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies concerning Shakespeare. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference.

 

Oxford English Dictionary


This multi-volume dictionary, published by the Oxford University Press, is a descriptive dictionary of the English language, tracing the historical development of words with accompanying examples from literature of their usage over time.

EBSCO Communication & Mass Media Complete


This database indexes publications in the area of communications, mass media and other closely-related fields such as film, television, rhetoric, broadcasting, advertising, and new media. Searching includes 570 journals with more than 450 offering full text articles.

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The Chronicle of Higher Education is considered a major news service in the area of American academic affairs. Based in Washington, D.C., it specializes in news, information and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The online edition is published every weekday.

EBSCO Philosopher's Index with Full Text


This database provides full-text coverage of 220 philosophy journals, including the complete back file of The Journal of Philosophy.  Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, political philosophy, and social philosophy; as well as the philosophies of education, history, language, religion, and science.  Provides indexing for more than 680 magazines and journals.

PrepSTEP

A collection of resources specifically designed for community college students to enhance their skills in core English, math, and science, as well as to acquire basic computer and workplace preparation skills. Also includes materials focused on career investigation, college placement tests and ACT and SAT test preparation, and a section on Recursos para Hispanobablante (Resources for Spanish speakers).

Elsevier ScienceDirect; College Edition

A broad database of journal articles and books published by or from affiliates of the international publisher Elsevier. This resource provides searchable sources, more than 2450 journals and 11,000 books, in the areas of health and life sciences, physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.

Proquest US Newstream, Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch and GenderWatch


These databases can be searched together or separately. The materials include articles from major U.S. newspapers together with articles from alternative and independent press publications. Additionally, coverage includes scholarly journals, magazine articles and other sources from ethnic and gender studies sources. Searchable by keyword and subject.
NOTE: For off-campus access to ProQuest, please contact a librarian at the MC Library.

 

ProQuest Research Companion

This collection of tools and short videos demystifies the research process. Offers guidance in getting the research process started, selecting a topic for investigation, crafting searches to locate pertinent information, evaluating the reliability of sources, and avoiding plagiarism. Helps the researcher develop and sharpen critical thinking and research skills to find, evaluate, and use information effectively.

NOTE: For off-campus access to ProQuest, please contact a librarian at the MC Library.